We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Cabinz Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bay Cabinz Motel to your Saves list
Bay Cabinz Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The Perfect Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We agree with the previous reviews - a delightful cabin with great surroundings. The little extras (private pot of herbs on each verandah; pegs on the washing line; bbq tools hanging near the bbq) made the stay even more enjoyable. The 20 stairs proved no problem for us

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our third visit this year - 2 nights each time. Everything is excellent. We never use our car once parked (cars are safe) as everything is in walking distance. owners friendly and helpful. Units are clean with everything you need, private and very quiet. can enjoy your own DVDs and music.The perfect retreat

Room Tip: Rooms right at the top are best - 8, 9 &10 (very private)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Quiet, comfortable and relaxed with a nice relaxing view over bushland and a glimpse of the sea. We had a stand-alone cabin with plenty of greenery around it so no intrusion form other guests - we saw them but never heard them. There were outdoor chairs and table provided and it was really nice to sit outside with a glass of wine and enjoy the serenity. The bathroom was as good as anything I've ever seen and there were all the usual amenities to do your own cooking. Everything was clean and tidy. Owners matched the motel - friendly and laid back!
The only minor grumbles were the limited amount of room around the bed and lack of a couple of easy chairs to watch TV. Then again, we didn't watch much anyway. The beach and shops and cafes are 5 minutes stroll away - the Thai restaurant had really good food and the RSA over the road has cheap food and some real characters) - and we generally enjoyed the ambience of Pahia. Went on the ferry to Russell (original settlement in NZ), well worth while and enjoyed the cafes and Pompallier House (guides for the day were kids from the local primary school - they did a great job).
Overall we had a great time doing nothing (well, some of the time) and at other times enjoyed the general sightseeing around Pahia, Russell and Waitangi.
I've just read the review from Ishkaa - Smoochie the cat is still there to welcome everyone. Not sure about "under a minute" to get to the town unless Ishkaa is related to Usain Bolt. Anyway, we didn't want to hurry so we strolled down in 5 minutes.
Not particularly cheap but it had everything we could possibly have wanted. Good value.

Room Tip: Cabins are arranged going uphill, the lower ones are easier to access. The upper ones probably have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayCabinzMotel, Owner at Bay Cabinz Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks Bob for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed your "Bolt" comment & agree that most of our guests although fit outdoor types could not do 300m in 1 minute!! Safe travelling. Regards Belinda & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Bay Cabinz and really enjoyed the experience. The view from our cabin was lovely - looking over the Bay of Islands from Paihia. Our bed was very comfortable, shower was great. Everythin was very clean and the owners were helpfull. Easy walk to the shops, wharf, restaurants and club. Smooch the cat was also welcoming and friendly. Would recommend to family and friends and definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Lovely quiet cabins just off the main road through Paihia. Very friendly and relaxed owners.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

No traffic noise and Pete and Belinda are long term in the Bay so they know all the things to do and see. The units are awesome as they are individual so no noise from the neighbours!!!! A quick walk to the town ( under a minute ) and we just loved Smoochie the cat. DO yourself a favour and stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a small motel complex with a lovely view of the bay. The units are small but very well fitted out with everything that one could want. Even a pair of scissors in the kitchen drawer.
We stayed of two nights and were very happy. The wrap round balcony is a lovely sun trap.

Room Tip: We had unit one which does not have much of a climb to it. If you have difficulty with alot of ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Cabinz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cabinz Motel

Address: 32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Cabinz Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully self-contained private chalet bungalows overlooking the Paihia village. This sunny elevated eco-complex is set in sub-tropical/native surroundings with bird life, sea and garden views in Central Paihia. Ideal for singles, couples and small families who enjoy a quiet natural environment. Only 300m flat walk to Paihia's cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches and nearby wharf which is the gateway to the beautiful Bay of Islands many tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Cabinz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cabinz Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Cabinz Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.