We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Romantica

Save Saved
You added Chalet Romantica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chalet Romantica
6 Bedggood Close, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY& KAYAK FOR FREE
Ranked #1 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely B&B. warmly greeted by our host Inge. Our bedroom/ apartment is gorgeous. We have a great lounge area, bedroom,separate bathroom and a balcony area with a great view. Could not ask for more. 10/10

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
So happy you enjoyed our apartment and your stay with us. Hope your trip around New Zealand went well and you had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
214
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first time in NZ and whilst visiting Paihia we had booked to stay at Chalet Romantica. We have not been fans of B&B's in the past but, if every B&B was run by Inge we would not stay anywhere else. Inge and her husband Eddie are the perfect hosts. They are so friendly, happy to book excursions, restaurants, make local recommendations (they are also very knowledgeable about the rest of NZ) and they really make you feel welcome into their home. We had arrived on Valentines Day and, shortly after arriving Inge brought us two glasses of champagne which we thought was a very nice gesture. We had the Bellavista Room which was lovely (provided with robes & slippers) with a balcony (sofa, 2 chairs and a table) that had a wonderful view over the Paihia bay and russell in the distance. The private bathroom (large shower, modern bathroom & lovely toiletries) was across a private hallway so this isn't an issue. The breakfast was the best we have ever had, so much choice - catering for all tastes. My husband particularly liked Inge's poached eggs (I should have asked her for a cooking lesson)! We didn't use the spa facilities during our stay as we were only there for 2 nights (unfortunately) but they looked very good. Sufficient parking for all guests and free wi-fi. We would like to return to NZ in the future and, when we do, will will definitely book to stay here again. Highly recommended.

Thank you Inge & Eddie - Christine & Colin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. It is so nice to read when guests enjoyed our hospitality, service and had an overall great experience at our place. See you again in Paihia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Saskatchewan, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the first stop on our N.Z. trip and it was wonderful. Ed and Inge are so friendly and helpful, booking trips, dining reservations and offering information. Our room was comfortable, spotless with plenty of closet space and gorgeous view. There was a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities, so you could have an early morning brew and go take a walk or exercise to work up an appetite for the meal you wouldn't want to miss. Breakfast was a feast!! The location was just a short walk from numerous restaurants, on Marsden Road which follows the coastline. We enjoyed everything about our 4 night stay, and although never had time to use the spa, it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Hope you enjoyed your trip around our beautiful country. Perhaps see you again in sunny Paihia?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

this place has it all. Location, comfort, views and even goats in the back paddock. The owners are present and very helpful with suggestions, local knowledge and even booking tours for me. Breakfast caters for every taste. Nothing better than a swim and relax in the spa at the end of a long day. I will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It was lovely meeting you and to be able to assist you with some suggestions on things to do and see in town. If you ever come back our way we'd love to have you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed two nights and wished we had booked longer. We stayed in the Romantica Suite which is the top of the house. We cannot fault the service and overall experience. The web site is quite accurate but I don't think it shows the hammock that I enjoyed one afternoon. The lounge is most comfortable and the whole place is well furnished. The breakfast table is a picture and the food is just superb. The host is a delight and so helpful. In our trip round both islands we stayed in many good places thanks to Tripadvisor but this was easily the best B and B. The view is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Glade you also enjoyed our hammock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just spent six nights at the Chalet Romantica. Our booking was originally for three nights, but it was so perfect that we extended it. The rooms were so well appointed, everything you could possibly need and all with a superb view over the Bay. Breakfast was a highlight; fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cooked breakfast, freshly baked bread, croissants.
Our hosts, Inga and Eddie, booked our trips and were able to suggest various walks and places to visit. This really is a superb place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
So glade you extended your stay with us. You could have stayed forever!! You were such lovely guests and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide. Sth. Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We, unfortunately, could only spend one night at Chalet Romantica, and that is decidedly our loss.
Inge made us so very welcome it was almost like coming home.It was a pity we did not get to meet Eddie.Maybe next time! Everything we needed was already provided and everything was of the best quality. WiFi is freely available. Our suite could not have been more comfortable The balcony had wonderful views and even a washing line with pegs. We also had the use of the Spa Suite which has a small swimming pool with hydrojet, and a hot tub spa - this is completely private for a couple or group and is signaled as in use by a window blind. The Breakfast was wonderful, everything one could wish for was provided. We would not hesitate to recommend this amazing B&B and would give it 10 out of 10
Sybil and Martin. Adelaide. 21-02-13

Room Tip: We had asked for twin beds and the room we were given was named the Bellvue Suite and was perfect. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Next time you have to stay with us longer and meet Eddie. So happy you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, wireless internet & extra comfy beds. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.