We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Romantica

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 1 more site!
Chalet Romantica
6 Bedggood Close, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY& KAYAK FOR FREE
Ranked #1 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Adelaide. Sth. Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We, unfortunately, could only spend one night at Chalet Romantica, and that is decidedly our loss.
Inge made us so very welcome it was almost like coming home.It was a pity we did not get to meet Eddie.Maybe next time! Everything we needed was already provided and everything was of the best quality. WiFi is freely available. Our suite could not have been more comfortable The balcony had wonderful views and even a washing line with pegs. We also had the use of the Spa Suite which has a small swimming pool with hydrojet, and a hot tub spa - this is completely private for a couple or group and is signaled as in use by a window blind. The Breakfast was wonderful, everything one could wish for was provided. We would not hesitate to recommend this amazing B&B and would give it 10 out of 10
Sybil and Martin. Adelaide. 21-02-13

Room Tip: We had asked for twin beds and the room we were given was named the Bellvue Suite and was perfect. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Next time you have to stay with us longer and meet Eddie. So happy you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
214
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loxwood
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Chalet Romantica and Inge was even more welcoming and helpful than ever. This is a superb B&B and Inge provides a lavish array of breakfast choices overlooking the fantastic Bay of Islands at Pahia. Inge is also a source of good local knowledge about what is on and available as well as where to go and what to see. What more do you need from a well run B&B. This is highly recommended and the rooms have everything you can think of to assist with your stay. Congratulations to Chalet Romantica - They made our first 3 nights in NZ a real joy. Chris & Liz A - West Sussex UK

Room Tip: The front facing rooms have a superb view over the bay and a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Really happy you enjoyed our breakfasts. We believe it is an important part of an overall experience when staying at a B&B. Hopefully see you a 3rd time in our lovely country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pahia was the last stop on our 3 week plus tour of North Island. We had chosen the apartment so didn't share the breakfast experience, but the apartment was the best equipped we found in NZ. As another reviewer remarked, the attention to detail was second to none. The kitchen area had everything you needed including plenty of pans & microwave dishes. The Chalet is in a lovely setting with wonderful views over the bay and has very nice outdoor furniture on the private balcony. The bathroom had everything you could wish for, including all those important items you may have forgotten (or in our case, run out of!) The hosts Edi & Inge, were really delightful and very helpful in sorting out a plan for our 3 days stay, even booking the boat trip for us. We couldn't fault it and will certainly stay here again if ever we are lucky enough to return to NZ.

Room Tip: We chose the apartment but am sure all the others rooms are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
So happy that we could make your stay as enjoyable! Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights in December 2012, during a 2 month trip round NZ. We found some great B&Bs and motels all over both Islands, but Chalet Romantica is just superb - in another class altogether from the merely excellent. The attention to detail, the thoughtfulness of the hosts, and indeed the sheer quality of absolutely everything. It must be something to do with being Swiss, because another place we stayed in that was comparable (but not a B&B) was also run by a Swiss couple - see my review of The Chalet Motel in Lake Tepako.
Of course, the bottom line is how much you enjoy just being somewhere, and Chalet Romantica scored top marks for us.
Tips: If you are unlucky enough to have a rainy day, as we did, ask Inge if you can use the spa suite. This has a small swimming pool (with proper hydrojet), a hot tub spa and exercise machines, and best of all, it's completely private - just one couple or group at a time. It's very civilised!

Room Tip: The rooms are all superb. We chose the 'apartment' as it alone has a proper (and very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow, thank you soo much for your fantastic review! It is amazing. So glade you enjoyed our hospitality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I cannot rave enought about the Chalet Romantica, it's absolutely beautiful!!! Both rooms we stayed in were like a dream come true and had such beautiful decor!! The blankets on the beds reminded me of my mothers home in Germany!! Breakfast was absolutely amazing, felt a little awkward to sit altogether but once you got to know everyone it made te experience better!! I loved the eggs and bacon :)
Inge was an absolute star our whole stay and really helped us out even though we had booked trips already!!
The weather was perfect which made the views breath taking and stunning!! The only little thing was that at times the wi-if signal wasn't the best, I realise it stated this, so nothing to really complain about just a little frustrating when my work was trying to get hold of me!! Other than that though absolutely perfect and amazing especially all the facilities and the funny goats you keep :) I have recommended this to everyone and will definitely be back again :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It was really nice to meet you both and to make your stay as enjoyable. If you ever need a break from the city again you know where to find us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Pahia and our hosts, Eddie and Inge, made us feel most welcome. Our room was beautiful, exceptionally clean and comfortable. We had a lovely balcony with views of the bay. Breakfast was like a 5 star restaurant with a personal touch. Our hosts made sure we found the best restaurants in town and the best tours of the bay. What a delightful experience! Thank you for making our 25th anniversary so special! Betty and Peter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We both enjoyed very much the chats we have had with you. Hope you were able to find and take home a piece of New Zealand artwork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in this B&B, The views ,room, breakfast were all excellent.
Inge you were so kind to us and could not of been more helpfull,
All the little touches you have added to the room and breakfast are so special.

We will certainly reccomend you and if we come back to Paihia we will be back to stay.

Thank you Inge and Eddie for letting us stay in your home

Ann and Maurice

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
You were a delight to have! Enjoy the last few days with your son and see you again at your next visit to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, wireless internet & extra comfy beds. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chalet Romantica to your Saves list