We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mini honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chalet Romantica to your Saves list
Chalet Romantica
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Bedggood Close, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY& KAYAK FOR FREE
Ranked #1 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect mini honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after our wedding. Everything about the stay was great. Brilliant views, rooms, location, meals, spa/pool, but the best part was the service. Inge you were the best host, it would be hard to find someone so kind and helpful. Thank you, Ben and Jess.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you both! Would love to have you again on one of your wedding anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
227
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trier, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here during the christmas days and we were perfectly happy! We had everything we needed: a very nice, big and clean room with a kitchenette, a balkony and a panoramic view. The breakfast was extensive and served in their very nice and comfortable dining room. The Chalet is a few-minute walk to the restaurants. The hosts Inge and Eddie really cared about us from the begining to the end of our stay. Two great people that we will remember!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Really happy to receive your review and to learn that you arrived home safely. Would love to see you again next time when you travel to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here the last 4 nights of our 3 week NZ honeymoon, and it was the *perfect* ending to our trip. We stayed in the Romantique room, which was very large compared to other B&B rooms we've previously stayed in, with fantastic water views. (The space was bigger than some studio apartments I've seen.)

Our room had a kitchenette with micro, fridge, and kettle. One caveat- there's a fair number of stairs up to this room- wasn't an issue for us, but could be for other travelers. The Chalet is a 5-minute walk to the water/restaurants-just be aware that the driveway is steep (good exercise coming back!)

Breakfasts were extensive, with a great variety of food (book in advance and it's a little less expensive.) Nice, private spa and pool. Free Wifi. A lot of nice little touches throughout. Very clean.

The care and comfort of her guests is *very* important to Inge. Her recommendations for dining and activities were spot on, and we really enjoyed our time talking with her. She's one of those wonderful people that you meet in your travels and will remember years from now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you both and to provide a pleasant stay for this very special time in your lives. We wish you both all the best for now and your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have just left paradise behind. On leaving Chalet Romantica this morning we felt as if we were leaving friends, as that is how Inga and Eddie treated us these last three days. You will already have read all the other reviews that tell of all the facilities that Chalet Romantica offers and we agree with every one of them, this is indeed a six star B&B, no where else that we have visited in the world have provided hair straighteners along with the drier.
However the thing that really sets this B&B apart from the rest is the sincere warmth and friendliness of the hosts Inga & Eddie, from the time you arrive until when you depart you are made to feel part of their "family".
We look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We loved having you staying and we were sad to see you go. You still have lots to see of our lovely country and hopefully we'll meet again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Chalet Romantica provided an excellent base for our family to enjoy our time in the Bay of Islands. The hospitality was warm and extremely helpful in guiding us to local attractions, restaurants and making us feel very welcome. The room was beautiful with a lot of small, thoughtful touches and had everything we needed. We even cooked a couple of simple meals in the kitchen. The beds were excellent and we had great nights sleeps. The views were spectacular and we enjoyed our morning coffees/evening drinkgs on the deck over looking the Bay of Islands - best view around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We enjoyed having you and your family staying. We'll have the chess ready for Elliott to play next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lots of B&Bs are very good, but this one is perfection. The position is superb and is an easy walk into town, the restaurants and the various water activities, booking offices and everything the tourist needs. We had the Retreat room which does not have the wonderful sea view but has the garden view with its own parking space, terrace and sitting area and was great. Room had everything you could possibly need including robes for use visiting the hot-tub and plunge pool.
Breakfast is "something else" we have never been presented with so much choice of lovely breakfast goodies, cereals, prepared fruit, posset, pastries, fruit juice, cheeses, home-made bread, jams and so on, then any cooked breakfast you wanted. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose any of the four available as location very quiet, and rooms beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We really enjoyed your company and would love to welcome you back again. In the meantime enjoy your travels throughout our wonderful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

great spot.
Views to remember for a long time to come.
A great break for us at the end of the year
If you are travelling to the Bay of Islands then you will find it hard to find a better friendly place to stay.
The breakfast layout was superb

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view out over the bay of Islands Great breakfast. Nothing was to much tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
So happy we could make your visit special. If you ever feel to get away from the hustle and bustle of Hamilton again we would be very happy to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, wireless internet & extra comfy beds. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.