We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Romantica to your Saves list
Chalet Romantica
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Bedggood Close, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WIFI ZONE
Ranked #1 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wonderful place and hosts. Peace and quiet, beauty of the Bay of Islands, Paihia.

Great breakfasts, well-furnished rooms, comfy beds.
Walking distance to the town centre/shops if that's your thing, yet away from that for serenity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you. Really happy you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
242
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Poor Ed we caught on the hop with a last minute call, we need accomadation.
He welcomed us and showed us our room. What a delight all the little treats.
Breakfast something you only dream about, something for the ladies and the man does miss out either.
Thanks Inga and Ed we will be back. An experience to last with us for ever. We have recommended this to everyone we have talked to so far

Sharon and Peter Tauranga

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much. It was such a delight to meet you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A weekend to remember! A short "Get Away" from City Life was perfect at Chalet Romantica.
The quality and service both second to none. Views over the water were picture perfect as was every detail of our stay with Ed & Inge. Their warm friendly welcome made it very easy to relax and unwind in the privacy of our own suite, with a healthy (or hearty) breakfast in the conservatory being a perfect start to the day. Would highly recommend to anyone and definitely revisit. Thank you both for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Front Office Manager at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for staying with us! Hopefully we'll meet again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is an exceptional place to stay in Paihia, Bay of Islands. What made our short stay so special was Inge, the perfect host. Her friendly welcome and advice about the area and trips helped us to make the most of our holiday. The view from our spacious top room was spectacular and breathtaking and the breakfast was superb. This excellent hotel lives up to its name; a truly romantic retreat in a beautiful part of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ask for exquisite room at the top, overlooking the bay, with truly spectacular, breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The view, the very friendly hosts, the cosiness and the delicious and healthy breakfast made our stay at Chale Romantica unforgettable.
Inge gave us many valuable tips and helped us in many ways, what made our daytrips easier.
Definetely would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We decided to take a few extra days off work and have a long weekend in the Bay of Islands. On looking for a place to stay we chose the Chalet Romantica on the recommendations/reviews we read online and true to their words it was fantastic!
We stayed in the Bellevue suite which was just the right with a kitchen lounge area and separate bedroom and bathroom. It becomes apparent that everything has been done with fine taste as all the fittings, decor and bedding are of a luxury standard without being over the top. Quality and comfort just where we needed it.

The hosts were great and added that personal touch that makes staying in a Boutique Lodge/ B&B that notch above a regular hotel. On check-in we received a informative overview of the area with a locals heads-up on all the attractions to see and things to do. We booked ourselves in a Dolphin watching and Hole in the Rock trip a definite must do!

The building is laid out where guests can privately come and go via the front entrance and stairway area without at all feeling like there is an intrusion. All the upstairs room including our have a north facing balcony with views over the Bay that are just what we wanted. The location of the property is atop a hill with around 2 acres of land, the building is set to maximise the unrestricted views overlooking the town and the bay. On the other side, the property extends through some fields into native bush. Walking time to the beach which you can see from the balcony is around 5mins and into the middle of town maybe that again.

As all the other review mention the breakfast is awesome. As we were wanting to unwind we chose to have our breakfast at around 9:30am. We were greeted to a wonderful selection of fresh bread, freshly prepared fruit salad, yoghurt, a selection of cereals and cooked option if we wished. This was always one of the highlights each day.

All in all we cannot praise Chalet Romanitica and the hosts enough. We highly recommend taking a weekend away as we did, its only 3 hours drive from Auckland, an easy trip after work on Friday.
We will be back, thanks again!

Room Tip: It would appear that all the rooms have a great view and Balcony, one which we didnt see was priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I decided to book the honeymoon suite at the Chalet Romantica for my partners birthday and what a great idea.

The hosts were extremely friendly but not invasive and the room was extremely comfortable with a private balcony and had the most amazing views of Paihia, not to mention the sun that streams in every morning - If you woke up there everyday you simply would not go to work!! The spa facilities were a welcome addition to the weekend as was the breakfast spread. You have not seen a breakfast spread until you have seen this!

I honestly cannot say enough about the Chalet Romantica but I will attach photos and let them do the talking...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, wireless internet & extra comfy beds. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.