We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saltwater Lodge to your Saves list
Saltwater Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here at the end of December. Room was great, new, spacious and really clean with tea & coffee making facilities and our own bathroom. We had a double bed for us and bunks for the kids, a ranch slider onto the deck with table and chairs and even a wee peek of the sea from our corner room. (It's one building back from the beachfront). There was a table tennis room, basic but still fun, and free bikes to use. Really appreciated the free 50MB daily internet; this would be particularly great for overseas travellers. The only thing that could be improved is the squeaky top bunk; because they're metal it may need a bit of padding at the joins. Fabulous place and great value for money.

Room Tip: We had the right hand corner room on the top floor for the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Paihia is such a beautiful town and we were thoroughly disappointed by the disgusting service we received by various staff members, especially the owner himself! We wore sworn at by the owner to remove ourselves from the deck which we did not know closed at 11pm...this was at 11:02pm. There was no warning at all just a sudden outburst of swearing. The next morning although the facility is lovely and clean, we did not appreciate the cleaners vacuuming when people were still sleeping in the rooms so made sure we didn't leave any valuables lying around at any one time. Another member accidentally spilt some herbs in the kitchen and was not even given 1 second to clean this up before he was questioned whether he would or not. This was by an older female. The next night we made sure that we had removed ourselves from the deck by 11pm and moved into the communal lounge until 12am. We shuffled around the couches in order to chat to one another and were again shocked when the security guard arrived saying "what do you think you own the place and think you're at home or something? Put the couches back or else". We admit that our team is a very social bunch, but we don't cause any trouble and really did not see the need for these 'workers' to act in such a manner. Will not be staying there ever again and will pass this feedback onto everyone I know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived at the office and were greeted with a warm smile and and an efficient explaination of the facilities. The genuine positive outlook of the manager to make our stay pleasant was enough to revive our spirits!There are free bikes to use, the internet is fast although you only get 50 MB free a day. The people running the office are super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed one night with partner and 3 month old baby in family room (Room 19 - one double, one bunk bed, en suite and small fridge). Very friendly service, clean room and good bathroom with good view of the bay. Easy walking distance to everything in town. Reasonable kitchen although busy at peak times. Good lounge area. WiFi available for small fee suitable for checking email. Little bit loud later on due to nearby club but didn't affect our sleep when we closed the doors - really was excellent value for money, would stay again. They also lend out bikes, helmets and locks and have a tennis court (sadly we didn't have time to use them).

Room Tip: Room 19 is ensuite and a good family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent two nights here in a double room with ensuite. The room was equipped more like a basic hotel than a hostel really - we had our own fridge and tv in our room. Very spacious and clean.

The kitchen is really well equipped and there is a large communal lounge stocked with books a TV, DVDs and a guitar. There is also a communal BBQ. They have good Wi-Fi that worked really well in our room as well as the communal area.

We had really good service from the staff - they were particularly helpful in giving us directions and tips on what to do during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the double room. Great location, airy, clean, tidy (shower and bathroom needs a makeover but that's not a huge problem. Kitchen and lounge is nice (I thought it had a strange smell though). The reception staff were friendly and helpful and told us a few things to do in town while we stayed. Bikes can be borrowed for free. Paihia is a wonderful place and when we come back I would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Top floor has some sea views... albeit on the corners.. new hotel in front has blocked the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The double room we rented at the Saltwater lodge is great! Bigger than most motels/hotels I have stayed at and just as well kept as a hotel (with a tv, fridge, and free milk/tea/coffee in the room). Everything is walking distance from this place. We have our own table and chairs at the balcony right outside our room which is perfect for having a glass of wine in after eating at the communal areas downstairs. The rooms and kitchen are cleaned everyday and everything down to the cutlery looks new. I have stayed here during the week so it was quiet, and got free bike hire and advice on where to go from the lovely lady at reception. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone visiting Paihia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.