We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels in NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppertree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Peppertree Lodge to your Saves list
Peppertree Lodge
15 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Paihia, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Really good hostel. Ended up staying here for a month. The hostel is really close to the beach. BBQ's are provided in the outdoor seating area. There is plenty of space in the kitchen and lounge. The dorm rooms are also spacious and airy. Free activities include kayaking and tennis, and discounts can be provided on other activities such as dolphin encounters. Honest advice is given on the activities. Thanks Brian, we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
was sorry to see you go, enjoy the rest of your travels, see you back here one day..... bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
30
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piopio, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Helpful staff, Lovely ensuite room with plenty of windows for fresh air. very nice cafe straight across the road.

The only inconvenience for us oldies was having to ask someone where the Reception Office is, and then having to climb a lot of outdoor steps to reach it. unfortunate after a long drive and carrying luggage.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking time to put in a review, from the main lodge to the office there are 6 steps. Four signs of 0.6 of a meter by .30 of a meter showing the way to the office, plus a sign which has lights in it 2meters by 1.25 meters on the office wall, which can been seen from across the road at the restruant, and also 3 meter by 1,75 meters on the deck above the office with lettering of 0.5 of a meter showing the office and a large orange arrow through that sign pointing out the office. So I am a tad surprised at your difficulty finding the office. however that aside I hope you enjoyed your stay and come again. regards bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titirangi, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Thanks again to all the staff at reception Brian was nice and so was Rosie as he was there most of my time, the rooms are nice, clean, space is a plentiful and overall the kitchen is great one of the best backpacking kitchens I have seen so far, plus you guys have got it together with your deals with tours and stuff so I suggest to others you want a great place for the price they will save you even more with tours so thanks again had a blast and will be back for a weekend from Auckland big cheers to you Rosie

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
thank you, we try to ensure folk get the trips they want to do, at the best possible price, your comments make the extra time we put in worth while, hope you come back... regards bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great hostels, though not part of the BBH group still offered discount to members. Free room upgrade when original room mistakenly given to another backpacker.
Great facilities, clean and easy to get to and central to everything.


Owner on hand all the time and friendly, highly recommend this hostels to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us, come back again. regards bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The best place to stay in North Island. Just a min walking away from the beach, free kayac and bikes, really clean lodge with all the facilities:bbq, huge kitchen, nice showers and comfortable beds! Also the staff is so friendly en helpful! We had a great weekend in Bay of Islands, thanks to you guys! If come back to Paihia, no doubts we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for the kind review, your comments make the extra effort worth while. Hope to see you back here one day........ safe travels..... regards bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nice clean hostel at a convenient place in Paihia. Friendly staff, clean kitchen and dorms. Very nice facilities, even though I didn't use them in my short time there.
The one thing that I didn't like it's that it's pretty noisy. I was unlucky to sleep next to the toilets and the handdryer is really loud. Next to the I could also here the travellers in the room above mine come home. Lots of stomping sheen they came in. Maybe I was just unlucky with the room. Would come back though but would ask for a different room I'd I get the same one!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
unfortunately the hand dryer does sound very loud at night, probably when the night is still and no other noise is around, not sure if there is any thing we can do to muffle it, but will certainly speak to the suppliers in regard to this. Thankyou for bringing this to my attention, and am pleased for the most part you enjoyed your stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have been to Paihia 4 times so far and usually book very short-term. Because of that each stay was in a different accommodation, so I am comparing to the other places.

I stayed in a double room with shared bathroom (cannot comment on other rooms)

Positive:
- the room was quite big and even had a balcony (great value)
- the living room and kitchen were quite spacious and inventory was in good condition

Negative:
- the room was facing towards Kings Road and there was VERY loud music from the bar on the other side of the street... at 8pm...at10pm...at midnight. Not sure if it stopped at all...
- the "service" was not existing. I got the keys and that's it.
- I have to say that the shared bathroom was not acceptable for me at all. It was one shared bathroom for all guests (men and women) together, thus it was always crowded, not really clean (hundreds of dead flies lying around), no paper towels,... felt like a container bathroom at a cheap campground (and even they would have split bathrooms for men and women)

Overall:
Compared to the rest of New Zealand this is a reasonably good accommodation. Within Paihia there are many better places. I personally cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Kings Road or you get all the noise from across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
You came in for one night on the first long weekend for summer, the whole town was 100% booked and a lot of folk on those weekends come in to the diners and bars. So yes there would have been a fair bit of street noise. The lodge was built over 25 years ago and the shared bathroom would have been busy, we are unable to reconfigure the lodge to put in single sex facilities.We do check it at 8pm and at the end of the night (10.30PM), its fully cleaned between 10am and 12pm, so it should have been clean. The little midges are at this time of year are attracted by both the light and the steam from the showers, and only come at night. you booked in at 6.30pm and would have been checking out by 10am, there are no tours running at that time and most folk who stay 1 night are either heading north in the morning, or heading south, so I am not sure what else you were expecting, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppertree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppertree Lodge

Address: 15 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a purpose built backpackers, with 8 bed dorms using shared facilities, 4 bed dorms with own bathroom , doubles/twins that can sleep up to 4 people using shared facilities, doubles / twins that can sleep up to 4 people with own bathroom. We have a full well equipped kitchen , 50' tv with approx. 300 dvds, bbq area to allow you to grill our food, we have a tour desk for local tours, free access to 3 tennis courts, kayaks and bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peppertree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppertree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.