We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayfair Lodge
Save
You added Mayfair Lodge to your Saves list
7 Puketona Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
pahia
1 review
“very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Hi
I’ve spent more than 4 weeks in the “Mayfair Lodge” and I really enjoyed it.
It is always clean, Pamela, the Manager is very friendly and there are
free kayaks and bikes.
It’s just a 10- minute walk to the town and very close to the supermarket.
If you want to spend some relaxing days in Paihia, this place is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schwerte, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Mayfair Lodge is a nice and small hostel some 10 minutes on foot from the centre. To get there you have to walk along the beach, so who cares :)
Around the corner is a big countdown, thats very handy if you don't have a car.
The hostel is clean, lovely and has got everything you need.
Wayne, the manager, is a straightforward guy who is always keen on helping you.
I had a pleasant stay at the Bay of Islands and in the Mayfair Lodge.

Janis

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

A group of us stayed with Mayfair over the New Years Period, We found it to be unclean and smelly. Our room was small and had a distinct smell of urine, we told the owner about it and his response was oh we can't have that but nothing was done.

The blankets smelt like they hadnt been washed, the pillows damp and stale.

Showers had filth and mould growing around the bottoms of them.

The owner asked us to pay him in cash when we got there as he didn't want to "write it up" which was disapointing.

All in All. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. We camped out in the front yard for the first two nights. We had a pretty good first two nights and if you would like to camp, this is a good place for Paihia. Yes, it is a 10 minute walk from the city centre, but it sure is a nice walk along side the beach with some nice views. If you go here and want to do something special, just ask the owner and you can have a special trip or experience for little money. We went down to the waterfalls by motorboat and did some swimming and jumping off from the cliffs. Besides if you want to learn more about the Maorie culture without all the tourist fuzz, they are sure willing to do that.

We had a great stay,

Sebastiaan and Johanna, Holland

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I find it very hard to believe the comment about unfriendly owner Wayne!!! (Wayne is a very staright laced man and to the point, but he would never intend on upsetting anyone or bullying people into watching a show)
Me and my husband stayed at Mayfair Lodge in Dec 09 as we traveled round Nz for a month and have recently got back after travelling other parts of the world, so have just had the opportunity to write this review.
Waynes Family are both very talentend and poliet individuals and always make you stay fun and friendly.
Whilst we stayed there I asked them to peform as they were singing beautifully and the guys performed a haka, (I must say that we later went to Rotarua to see a proffesianal haka and it wasnt half as good!!!!) . So maybe this has happened after we left as I said it was a great idea that the Kids do a show its fun ans shows you that Nz has talent!!
We Stayed at Mayfair Lodge for 4 days and wished we could have stayed longer- it was very clean - rooms are not huge but when would you want to dance in it theres plenty of outside space for that. I can only comment on when we stayed there - we had a car and it was summer but I wouldnt say it was massively out of town i would say about a 10 min walk.
Credit due to Wayne as everywhere is clean and tidy some most place that we stayed in after this tended to be a bit noisey at night and kitches and showers dirty - lights out is always good here to, at least you get your kip in ready to get up n at em the next day.
I would definately reccomend the fishin trip with loca lAlbie - ask Wayne for details. The dolphin trip is a must a incredible experience. Go visit where they signed the treaty and also try the fish and chips at Monganoi.
Me and my husband would like to take the oppertunity to thank Wayne and his family for such a warm welcome and hope that one day we will return.
Lucy and Stephen Sheffield England

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairWaitangi, Manager at Mayfair Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Hi Lucy & Steve...seasons greetings to you both, thanks for your review...We would like your email details if this is appropriate...our email...info@mayfairlodge.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone.

The hostel is about a 15 minute walk away from the main section of town. This isn't a huge problem, but if it's raining it means you are pretty much stranded at the hostel, and when you have to catch your dolphin cruise or connecting bus in town, it means you have to wake up a little bit earlier and hope it isn't raining.

The rooms are tiny, and the room that we stayed in was underneath the owners' house. We could hear his family stomping around at all hours of the night. They have a large family with many young children, and they would be jumping up and down so loud above our room, I was surprised that they didn't come flying through the ceiling. When we told the owner about it, he told us to "just wait, they'll be finished soon".

The real problem at this hostel is the lack of manners, unfriendly attitude of's ot the owner. It's owned by a husband/wife team. The wife was quite friendly and welcoming to us. Her husband, however, has absolutely zero customer service skills, and is only there to make sure that you know 'he's the boss'. HIs children decided to perform a concert at 9pm and he went around to guests that were already enjoying themselves and started ordering them to watch the show. It was the most bizarre thing I've ever seen. During his kids' show, the guests were looking at each other as if to say "I can't believe what just happended"

Paihia is a great place, and we had a great time DESPITE having to stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

we booked this last minute and it was reasonably priced, we stayed there for 3 nights in a twin room. it was a very small room, infact i dont think it could have possibly been any smaller! it was a small hostel but friendly. it had a nice kitchen and lounge area as well as free pool table. internet was $2 per half hour. it is quite far from the shops and centre of paihia, about a 15 mintue walk. but it is next door to a supermarket which was handy. they also allowed us to borrow their kayaks and bicycles free of charge which was nice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Lodge

Address: 7 Puketona Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mayfair Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.