We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campsite I ever stayed at...would highly recommend!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground to your Saves list
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best campsite I ever stayed at...would highly recommend!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We couldn't have pick a better place to stay! It was close to the water, well maintained, all the amenities you could need, quiet area..and the staff were excellent!! We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    35
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
50
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We were in a powered site. The location and listening and watching the falls is great. Facilities clean and tidy. The Manager was very welcoming and helpful. Great value. Laundry facilities good. Excellent sites to choose from. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at the falls campground, literally 10 steps from the water with a lovely view of Haruru falls. There's nothing bad I can say about this place. The hospitality of the hosts is exceptional, the cleanliness of the bathroom(and FREE hot showers) and kitchen facility was fantastic. You get 100mb of Wifi per 24 hours per device. They have a pool up at the motel available for any of the campers to use if you don't fancy a dip in the ocean. They also offer Kayak rentals for $10/hr and you can kayak from the campground all the way out into the open water along Pahia if you have the stamina for it! We took the kayaks over to the falls(literally a 2 minute kayak trip from the camp shore line) and went underneath the falls with them!
If you have ANY questions about things to do in and around Pahia, the hosts will spend as much time as you want with them, explaining in detail all of the different options you have.
The location is wonderful as well. It's just far enough from the city to allow you to immerse in the surrounding nature and enjoy some peace and quiet, but close enough to rip to Pahia in about 7 minutes.
It was wonderful all around.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Choose from the motel or camp sites right on the river with views of the Haruru Falls. We stayed in a downstairs queen studio room with access to the beautiful pool and were very happy for three nights. Great shower pressure. If you want more privacy, you may prefer an upstairs room. BBQ and seating area outside, plenty of parking and the managers were really helpful in booking trips. Book through the accommodation provider for a 10% discount and they will also organise pick up and drop offs for trips from the wharf.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

What a wonderful place to stay! We were using the camping ground which is set right down at the waters edge. The view we had was magnificent-the Haruru Falls falling into a pool at the bottom and then the river continuing on its way past the camp. Not only could we use the river for kayaking (hired by the hour ) but we were also free to use the pool at the motels. The owners were incredibly helpful and obliging and made our stay very enjoyable. The facilities were spotlessly clean and adequate for the amount of campers. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights on the campgrounds with a group of my friends. The location is fabulous, directly opposite Haruru Falls, so close you can swim across to them or rent a kayak from the motel for a small fee. The campsite is very close to Paihia also.

The laundry, restrooms, showers and kitchen are cleaned daily and are spotless. The tap water is clean and safe to drink. The showers are hot (unless someone is using the kitchen sink of course). The kitchen has all the basic amenities. There are plenty of electrical outlets to charge phones etc.

The staff are friendly, polite and helpful.

I was very impressed by every aspect of the campgrounds and I will be recommending the site to my friends and family.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Staff we're very friendly and organised all out trips for us, we got picked up and dropped off at the campground and got 10% off. When we got there we we're moved to a better spot with table and chairs. Free hot showers and kitchen facilities. Was a nice and relaxing week.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Address: 1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.