We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service second to none!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground to your Saves list
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service second to none!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Waterfront Campsite. The view when we woke up in the morning was stunning as we looked right out onto the Haruru Waterfalls. The only sound that could be heard apart from the sound of the falls was the bird song.
What made our stay even more remarkable was the service we received from Peter, one of the owners. He was very welcoming and friendly when we first arrived. When we started to have trouble with our camper, he couldn't do enough for us. Not only did he find the source of our problem, but he managed to fix it as well - he certainly went well beyond and above any of our expectations. Thank you Peter, we will certainly be back to this beautiful spot and your amazing service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    35
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
51
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The motel's winning point must be the view. From there we could see Haruru Falls and the lake. Facilities were great too: BBQ pit, swimming pool, kayak rental, children playground. There's also caravan parking by the lake.

Room was pretty basic but clean, with small bathroom and functional, equipped kitchen. The car park was directly in front of the rooms.

The owner was very friendly, giving us recommendations and tips to make our trip more memorable. We went on half day dolphin cruise and tried another route to drive to Paihia city centre on his advice and loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We came for 1 night and stayed for 3 in our campervan. Such a relaxing place to be. Owners so friendly and helpful. Not quite warm enough for us to make use of the swimming pool. Facilities could do with a little upgrading but clean and all present and correct. Good base to explore the Pahia, Bay of Islands and Waitangi Treaty Grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very friendly hosts and great place to stay if you want to explore the area. They were also very helpful with the local attractions and booking of trips. Camp ground was very clean and it was right next to the water and short distance to the waterfalls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Perfect views, perfect room, mint condition - absolute bliss. Couldnt recommend it highly enough for couples young or old, families or groups of friends. It is too far out of Paihia to walk but that wasnt a problem for us. I would highly recommend renting the Kayaks and going out on the river and falls.

Room Tip: We were pleased to pick the ground floor because it meant we could bagsie the bbq, jump in the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it.
Great location overlooking the falls - the units were spacious, very clean with great views; lovely pool and barbecue area.
Peter & his wife were so friendly and helpful - with advise on the area & trips & booking them for us.
I would recommend it to anyone & would certainly stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very friendly attentive people run this motel. Nothing was too much trouble. Great knowledge of local area. Fantastic view of the electrical storm! Our group of 5 stayed for 5 nights and the room was very clean and comfortable. They also cut us a deal on a fishing charter, fishing was so successful we were delighted to share with staff. Pool with river views delightful. Lovely time spent each evening on balcony, over looking falls and all the activity across the campgrounds and boating activities.
The Newton-Smith family highly recommend Falls Motel.
Thank you so much guys, very memorable.

Room Tip: Two roomed apartment with double fold out couch in lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#32 of 43 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
1.1 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#11 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Address: 1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#10 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.