We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot with an awesome view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground to your Saves list
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little spot with an awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My family & I recently stayed here & really enjoyed it.
The rooms are well maintained, the staff are really friendly & have helpful suggestions of touristy things to try & the views from our room were just awesome. I would recommend Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground to anyone looking at somewhere to stay whilst in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Etobicoke, Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed in a King Suite and found it roomy and comfortable.
The owner, Peter, was a wealth of information and helped us select some great tours! He made great shopping recommendations too!
The views from the room were great! The Haruru Falls were beautiful and we got to see the rehearsals for Whaitangi day, which were fantastic.
High tide and low tide scenery was interesting too.
We would highly recommend this motel. It's just outside of Paihia, so you are away from the touristy town in a nice quiet area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked campsite, the campground is situated at the right in front of Haruru fall, and has amazing view. Staff were very friendly and helpful to our request. Kitchen and shower facilities may be bit old but they were quite clean. I would definitely visit again on next summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Fantastic facilities including free showers and BBQ area. Wifi and washing were all well priced. The campsite was at the foot of the waterfall with a fantastic view. Staff are very friendly and the facilities at hotel which we were able to use were great also. Thanks again. X

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

What an amazing place to stay at! We stayed in one of the studio units right next to the pool. Quiet, comfortable, excellent service, family atmosphere, everyone friendly. Even when we'd been forgotten by another company, for a day tour, Peter (Manager) ran us into Paihia in his own car so we didn't miss out. Brilliant !!! View of the falls was beautiful and only a 5 minutes up the road if you wanted to walk there. Kayaks were also available to cruise the river or falls area. Next time for us! Also heard lots of others discussing how they'd found this little slice of heaven and now wouldn't go anywhere else. That says a lot! Paihia just 5 minutes away, Russell a quick ferry boat ride away, Kerikeri 30mins away. Thanks Peter and Family for making our holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piopio, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our ensuite room at the Falls Motel could not have been better. Right beside the swimming pool and BBQ area, and only 10 metres from the spot to see the waterfall. Staff were very helpful, A short drive (or walk) down the hill to the camping ground below gave plenty of parking and wonderful views of the river and waterfall.

reception was clearly marked, adjacent to the carpark, and with temporary parking right outside the door. A delightful place and we will surely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

It was our first camping trip in New Zealand and we booked the campground approx October for the peak Christmas holiday season. We arrived the day after Boxing Day and the campground was slowly getting packed.

The campground provided everything that we needed for our 5 days trip away e.g. clean shower and toilet facilities, a kitchen for washing facilities and a laundry facility. Apart from that it also has powered sites if you wanna charge up any devices. I was also impressed that the site has good internet connection to the 3G network.

It is a gated site so only those that are paid guests will come through. It also asked for your group's age range when booking to ensure that the campground is not flooded with young kids trying to party hard.

We were both very impressed with this campground and are already planning to come back next Christmas with our family.

Thank you to the host for being helpful and also organising some entertainment for the New Year Eve countdown.

Definitely recommended to anyone thinking of staying near Paihia... its not too far only 5min drive to the nearest Countdown and Caltext petrol station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Address: 1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.