We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Save Saved
You added Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WHAT A DEAL!
Ranked #9 of 44 hotels in Paihia
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the camping site for 5 nights. Melissa and Todd were excellent hosts. They were very helpful with Todd helping by arranging activities to Melissa helping with a personal problem(where I had to make a quick dash to Kawakawa Hospital) My daughter and I felt very safe as the camping ground is secure. The facilities were excellent, from great warm showers to a practical kitchen. We enjoyed kayaking, marshmallows on the fire on the beach, kicking the rugby ball around watching the sun set etc I could go on and on. I am currently in the process of booking to go back here over xmas as I reside in Brisbane, Australia, this is my dream get-away. I would really REALLY recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived late afternoon of 4.10.2013.
The camp was almost empty, and we parked near the water.
The water was dirty, but the waterfall looked Very beautiful.
After sun set, the place was dark, not a singl light in the area.
To go to the toilet we needed a flashlight.
The toilet was very simple and make a shower was not pleasant.
I"m sorry, but the place is not as we expected.

Tali

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with Falls motel and campsite. We stayed in the campsite and we were very happy with the facilities provided - toilets, warm showers, kitchen with fridge and hob, laundry, and bbq area. The best part about this place is the view, you really can't beat waking up to the view of the Haruru falls every morning! You can also take canoes out onto the lake. Pete was so friendly he could not have done more for us, he helped us book onto tours and gave us friendly advice, even picked us up from the town after one of our trips and took us back to the campsite. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Peter, who owns and runs the place was amazing and so helpful. We were meant to spend 2 nights here but on the second night Peter had arranged for us to stay somewhere on higher griund due to receiving a call from the Civil Defence concerning flood warnings. The facilities were incredibly clean and Peter knew all of things we could do due to the bad weather. Would highly recommend anyone in a campervan to stay here as the view is breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in our caravan here for 3 nights. Nice clean facilities but best of all was the awesome view of the falls. Nice and quiet and metalled parking area. Lovely BBQ area although because it was winter we didn't use it. Free dvd's. Nice friendly host. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a Queen studio which we found clean and comfortable in a lovely elevated setting. We could view and hear Haruru falls with a few minutes easy waterfront access to Waitangi river directly below. While compact and basic, the unit's comfortable bed plus couch and adequate dining, bathroom and kitchen amenities made a convenient base for both relaxing and day-tripping. We enjoyed the alfresco setting just outside our door (under cover) and beside a near-by big gas bbq but still a little cold for the adjacent pristine pool and offered motel kayaks. For evenings in: TV, DVDs & wi fi provided plus an efficient thermostat-controlled oil fin heater.
Peter's friendly hospitality, sharing local knowledge plus going the extra mile to ensure we got the best out of our holiday activities, was a great bonus, thank you; we will definitely be returning.
Elizabeth and Les, Auckland

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying with Peter and Cheryle (owners operators) on a recent trip from melbourne... We were blessed with room 9 which was very clean tidy and functional (tv, stove top, tea and coffee, hot pressured showers :-) our room had its own balcony which directly overlooked the historical falls (when you get a chance talk to Peter as he is knowledgeable about the heritage and culture of the area and has some great stories and pictures to share) my favorite spot would have to have been the large picnic table on the bottom level that over looked the falls, private beach and Waitangi walking track. The sound of the roaring falls though out our stay instilled a sense of clam and serenity! Magical!!!! More so due to being winter. Our 14 year old was kept busy with access to a playstation, kayaks, trampoline and Peter kindly arranged a trip on the Mac attack eliminating all stress of a stimulating trip away!! It is obvious that this place is nurtured and cared for by a family that take an interest in your comfort and stay, we have arranged a trip back for Christmas and can only imagine that this place will impress us further while enjoying it alongside a kiwi summer... See you soon falls motel! The Johnston family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Address: 1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.