We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and inviting!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Save Saved
You added Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 44 hotels in Paihia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and inviting!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying with Peter and Cheryle (owners operators) on a recent trip from melbourne... We were blessed with room 9 which was very clean tidy and functional (tv, stove top, tea and coffee, hot pressured showers :-) our room had its own balcony which directly overlooked the historical falls (when you get a chance talk to Peter as he is knowledgeable about the heritage and culture of the area and has some great stories and pictures to share) my favorite spot would have to have been the large picnic table on the bottom level that over looked the falls, private beach and Waitangi walking track. The sound of the roaring falls though out our stay instilled a sense of clam and serenity! Magical!!!! More so due to being winter. Our 14 year old was kept busy with access to a playstation, kayaks, trampoline and Peter kindly arranged a trip on the Mac attack eliminating all stress of a stimulating trip away!! It is obvious that this place is nurtured and cared for by a family that take an interest in your comfort and stay, we have arranged a trip back for Christmas and can only imagine that this place will impress us further while enjoying it alongside a kiwi summer... See you soon falls motel! The Johnston family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and i stayed for 2 nights in this establishment. We were most impressed with the ustomer service of the new owner who has just taken over the business a few days before us arriving at his door step. Our intention was to camp on his grounds, however when we saw his rooms that he had to offer we decided to rather spoil ourself with a bit of luxuary as the owner was so very accommodating we could not resist. Congratualtions you made us feel at home and very comfortable with your good customer service and manners. Much appreciated and will recommend your place all the time. Many thanks, Tania and Francois Youbi

Room Tip: All rooms great and have a fabulos view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

After spending the night at a lesser establishment in Paihia, I knew I'd have to lift my game when my wife traveled up to join me for the rest of a camper-vanning holiday. After comparing the reception to my face to face inquiries at the two motel/campgrounds facing the Haruru Falls, I opted for the Falls Motel.
The new manager and joint owner - Peter was very friendly and welcoming. The camp ground, which is situated below the motel, has a stunning outlook towards the falls, has a small beach and also I later learned, the oldest inland wharf and surveyed road in NZ from early pioneering times. It was off peak so the camp was quiet. The facilities - kitchen, showers, laundry etc, are older, basic and functional, though, in spite of this are perhaps the cleanest I have come across. Hot showers were at no extra charge, though you've got to be quick - the hot water appears to last about 3 minutes and includes the warm-up time. The machines in the laundry worked well and were generally cheaper to operate than some other camp grounds I used later. There's a good walking track from the falls to Waitangi and there are basic sit-on-top kayaks (and life jackets) available and fun to paddle on up to and just under the waterfall if you're keen. The paddle down the river to Waitangi passes some nice spots and takes only about 2 hours return if you choose to head out around the islands and in towards Paihia and back. Peter operates a book exchange in his reception - swap your recently read novel for another, or buy one for about $3; and also has a good range of DVD's available for viewing if the weather has you off the kayaks or other available activities. There is also a trampoline and a basic relatively lightly built playground suitable for smaller kids.
Our time at the Falls Motel and Campground was so nice, we stayed an extra night and my wife and I found our experience there a magic start to our holidays together.
I would recommend this place and will return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked at the Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground for four nights initially and enjoyed Paihia and the Falls Motel so much, we stayed an extra night.
Yes from the outside front you see a two story Motel built some time ago, although when we entered our second storey two bedroom apartment the view from the balcony over the rear of the property is fantastic, with a swimming pool immediately below, and then the property drops away possibly another two to three storey's to reveal the Haruru Falls cascading into the large estuary that eventually reaches the sea some way downstream at Paihia.
The unit we stayed in was clean, the beds comfortable and fresh towels were available everyday, we had a lounge with dining table and kitchen facilities. Laundry facilities are available next to the office.
The Falls Motel is a family run business and I believe they had taken over operation around Christmas, Peter is very helpful as is the rest of his family, and was available to provide advice on what attractions were available around the area. We took up his advice and purchased some German Sausage from the local German Butcher and BBQ'd them for Dinner, a great meal indeed.
Our teenage children were keen to Hire the Kayak's the Falls Motel has available, at a nominal fee and twice we all ventured onto the water and paddled up to the Haruru Falls and down the estuary and had an awesome adventure.
It is great to sit out on the balcony when you arrive home from exploring the area surrounding Paihia and watch and listen to the water as it cascades over the falls, the birds call, or the Kayakers make their way up to the Falls.
Not far from the Falls Motel is the Waitangi Bush Walk, which is a five kilometre bush walk one way that takes you to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, which is rich with important New Zealand history, we took about an hour and a half to walk the track as a family to the Treaty Grounds, stopping at the various bridges and lookouts to soak up the view, our return journey walking at a reasonable pace took about an hour.
We found our stay at the Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground comfortable, relaxing and most enjoyable. We hope we may be in a position to return one day.

Room Tip: A second story room would most likely off the best view, although all rooms I believe would have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in March and were impressed with how well appointed even the more standard rooms in this complex are. The pool and bbq area has a great view over the falls and river. Pete the owner couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and was happy to recommend other services in the area. We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: Each room overlooks the river and falls so you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights in March and really enjoyed ourselves. The room was very comfortable for the 4 of us and was a perfect distance from Paihia. Peter was very friendly and helpful in all regards. The facility has a lot to offer. Next time we will use the kayaks. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in the Falls Motel for one week and we enjoyed every minute. Peter (The Owner) is a great guy who helped us booking the trips, restaurant and all the other things.
The rooms were clean and tidy with a service each morning.

Jennifer & Heiko(German)

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs! There you have your own balcony with a unique view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Address: 1 Old Wharf Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.