We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and well organise camp site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haruru Falls Resort

Save Saved
You added Haruru Falls Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haruru Falls Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 44 hotels in Paihia
1 review
“Fun and well organise camp site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time. :) well organised campsite. Beautiful views of the lake and the waterfall. Sounds so pretty at night when your in tent. Nicely kept grounds and good pool with slide for children. Cute restaurant for food in resort. The bathrooms and showers were not coin inserted which is a plus and they were nice and powerful and hot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    27
    13
    15
    15
See reviews for
42
45
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed for a weekend at the Haruru Falls Resort. It was fantastic ! We were blessed with beautiful weather, took a great dinner cruise up the river, and over all had a very good weekend. Our accommodation was a luxury apartment, beautifully decorated. The staff were helpful and friendly. I would have no hesitation in staying again - and in fact hope to stay for an extended weekend in November.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury apartments. They're beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaruruFallsR, Manager at Haruru Falls Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved our 2 night tent stay here. Gorgeous view of the Falls from our campsite, and the swimming pool is just what you need in summer!
Lots of showers and toilets so there's never a wait.

Excellent accommodation! Only 10 minutes from Paihia, and not far to Kerikeri either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have recently had the opportunity to stay at the Haruru Falls Resort on 3 separate occasions over the past month to attend conferences/training sessions. Jan, the hostess, is welcoming and friendly, as are all the front line staff. I enjoyed a room with water views of the falls - very comfortable - dining in, and the well maintained grounds and swimming pool. Great value for money!

The conference facilities are modern and clean, and have everything you need for presentations. The views of the falls and of the river provided are stunning.

I will be happy to stay here again, and recommend this establishment for motel guests and camper-van tourists alike.

Judith

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms closest to the Falls; going to sleep listening to the water is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Another wonderful 2 weeks camping. A truly relaxing spot and one you can never tire of. Many improvements have been made including a kitchen and laundry upgrade. Lots of time spent relaxing around the huge pool and the well maintained grounds.
This place really has it all:
- Motel units and cabins of various sizes to accommodate all including large families, like ours.
- Lovely camping area with a mix of powered and unpowered sites.
- Awesome pool, BBQ and kids play area.
- Restaurant and bar
- Boat ramp and jetty (great for the kids to fish from)
- Less than 5 min drive to heart of Pahia.
- Obliging staff.
and of course the location on Waitangi river, looking directly at the magnificent Haruru Falls, is just simply unbeatable.
Looking forward to another brilliant holiday next year as well as the odd weekend visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were fortunate enough to get a water-side pich for our camper-van, so we had an uninterupted view of the Haruru Falls. Fabulous location. Good kitchen, showers/toilet block. Excellent pool. Some shade for the van and picnic tables provided too. Good on-site bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: try and get near to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here one night in our campervan Feb 2013 - we were able to park right on the water's edge with a view across to the falls and down river in the other direction ... this is a fabulous location - really the most beautiful campsite we stayed in throughout our trip to North Island. (Also benefits from friendly manager, large swimming pool, licensed restaurant and it was in the lower price range which we paid for powered sites during our trip).

Room Tip: NB there are several motels and campgrounds around here - drive right down to the last campsite at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haruru Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haruru Falls Resort

Address: Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haruru Falls Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Haruru Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel Paihia
Haruru Falls Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haruru Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.