We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family destinatioin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haruru Falls Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Haruru Falls Resort to your Saves list
Haruru Falls Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous family destinatioin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We tend to stay here every summer, usually at the last minute! A very special place (great vibe), love the swimming pool and we (kids included) tend to meet up with others staying either in the apartments or camping ground, making new friends each time we stay. Just a few minutes from Paihia by car so shopping is accessible with a well stocked supermarket close by too. Love this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiceResort, Front Office Manager at Haruru Falls Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at Haruru Falls Resort, it was great hosting you, we look forward seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Jan and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
43
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, Shropshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed two nights at Haruru Falls Holiday Park just a short drive north of Paihia. Beautiful scenic and peaceful area on the banks of the tidal Waitangi River and just a stones throw from the Haruru Falls. Kayaks and Maori traditional rowing boats were passing up and down the river viewing the falls. Jan gave us a beautiful plot on the river bank and we spent a lot of our time watching the Kingfishers, Brown Ducks, Pied Shags, White-faced Herons, Miners, Black-backed and Red-billed Gulls, as well as Starlings, Swallows, Sparrows and Blackbirds, feeding at low tide. Then there were the two cheeky white Ducks who roamed around everyone begging for food! There was a lovely large swimming pool with seating area all around and very nice grounds and gardens. We were originally only booked in for one night. On that evening there was the staff Christmas barbeque and party and every guest was invited to join them. Just bring whatever meat you want and the salads would be provided we were told. We did not have any meat that day so were told whatever meat we wanted could to obtained from the chef, at the price they paid. The two steaks we had were gorgeous and very good price. Part way through the evening, it rained so we went inside into the restaurant which was very clean and comfortable and decorated beautifully for Christmas. The spent the evening with a guest family and good time was had by all. The next day we were booked on to an overnight cruise on the Ipipiri to the Bay of Islands and we were going to pay for secure parking in Paihia but Jan offered to let us park there for free. We then decided to stay an extra night after the cruise as we wanted to do the riverside trek from Haruru Falls to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds (which was most enjoyable, even though it was a very hot day) Although we really enjoyed our time at Haruru Falls Resort and found all the staff to be brilliant, our only disappointment was the dirty washroom facilities which I cringed at every time I visited. They were very cold, and damp with mould on the ceiling and very wet, slippery floors. There was an unpleasant smell, not very pleasant showers, empty soap dispenser (although I did mention this to the cleaner to no avail) and no hand dryer or hairdryer. I did not use the kitchen as I did not like the look of that either. These facilities were by far the worst we encountered in the whole of our month in New Zealand. There badly needs to be a considerable investment in this facility block as it spoils the rest of the site. Because of this, my excellent rating has to be reduced to poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

As far as location goes, this hits the nail on the head. Great views, and nice and quiet.
Unfortunately the management team could do with a shake up. They were rude, couldn't work their systems and treated the maintenance man utterly discustingly.

They couldn't use their booking system is they tried. They had no idea who was staying where / when. They had no idea who was coming or going. They were booking several people on sites, over booking so that the resort became too full and uncomfortable.

The management (the main lady who runs it) was utterly rude. The way she spoke to the guests was discusting and don't get me started on the way she spoke to staff. One morning the entire camp site was witness to her "blowing up" and going absolutely "crazy" to the maintenance man. This should never, ever be done in front of paying guests. Actually, you should never ever scream and yell and abuse a staff member like that whether it was in front of guests or not! At the very least she should have asked me to go to the office and have spoken to him there. Was discusting and the entire camp ground was talking about it.

Speaking of maintenance the FACILITIES at the campground were bordering on disease ridden. The showers were moudly, there was a putrid smell permanently coming from the toilets and they were only cleaned once a day which appeared to consist of hosing it all down causing puddles and incredibly slippery floors. I have stayed in many camping grounds, and this was the worst. I was tempted to call the appropriate Government Agency to invetsigate as the hygiene levels were horrid. I visited some friends at a camping ground down the road (which was actually cheaper per night) and the cleanliness of the facilities thorougly out did Hururu Falls "Resort".

To finsih off, management needs to re-think their layout in relation to having cars next to your campsite. They have squeezed in so many camping sites, presumably greedily to make more money, but through this have sacrificed the size of the sites meaning it is impossible to have your car any where near your site. Not to mention you are on top of your neighbours with limited, if any, out door space to cook and / or enjoy the sun.

Thoroughly disappointed. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My best friend and I were doing another 'Roadie' around my beloved homeland and since I was travelling with a committed Australian I was keen to show off the famous 'Kiwi Hospitality'. Haruru Falls Resort did not fail me. Jan and her friends made us feel extremely welcome. We had a great view of the Falls from the spot we parked our camper, the facilities were immaculate and close by. The pool fabulous, great kayaks and pizzas at the bar, a real treat.
Nothing was too much trouble for our host, Jan. What was meant to be a one night stay turned into 3 and only then did we leave, reluctantly.
Thanks for the laughter and wonderful memories. We will be back!!
Ali and Tracey

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at Harura Falls Resort for 3 nights in November 2012 and had a great time. Thanks to Jan and the staff. They were there to make sure the stay was great with a great view from the room.
All bus bookings were made for activities and a nice friendly restaurant & bar. Would stay there again whenever we come back to holiday. Had a great time also with Ollie the dog.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic camp, great value with all facilities you need. Awesome pool and in walking distance to the falls. Fantastic night, great helpful host. Lots to do close by and heaps of helpful advice on where to go and what to see Overall had a great night thank

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Pre-booked one winter night for a reasonable tariff as a convenient base from which to explore Paihia and Russell en route south. We had a clean comfortable warm roomy end-unit with separate kitchen and parking at the door. The view of the falls from our room was fabulous and although chilly, it was possible to sit outside undercover on chairs provided and take in the full sound and sight by moonlight. It was exhilarating to get up close to the falls in a short easy walk from the resort. Enjoyed personal friendly service as only a few guests in at that time, several of whom, like us, appreciated the pet-friendly staff hospitality and helpfulness regarding local information. A minor disappointment to find on arrival that restaurant closed for the season with only pizza delivery available which was not advised at our time of booking. This however didn't detract from our initial pleasant experience as plenty of Paihia eat-out places to choose from so we spontaneously booked in for an extra night - and for a discount! Happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the falls!! from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haruru Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haruru Falls Resort

Address: Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haruru Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Haruru Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel Paihia
Haruru Falls Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haruru Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.