We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying Here Tainted our Fondness for the Bay of Islands” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Haruru Falls Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Haruru Falls Resort to your Saves list
Haruru Falls Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staying Here Tainted our Fondness for the Bay of Islands”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Bought a voucher from GrabOne, and thought we'd try a new place for a change. We've been to Paihia several times and stayed in pretty nice places, so we thought we'd give this one a try. Rang twice and couldn't get hold of anyone to make a booking, so left messages, and no-one returned the call. Finally got hold of someone to book, was told the weekend we wanted was not available for the GrabOne allocation. Couldn't help but feel we were less important because we bought a voucher.

Staff were apathetic at best. Zero customer service. We got a room with 2 single beds; you'd think if they saw a couple they would try to change it to a double bed room.

The room was tired, the bathroom was worse. The vinyl floor is a relic from the 70's and felt and looked grotty. The single beds were pathetically soft.

We tried not to let the accommodation ruin our weekend, but it's hard to ignore that it has tainted our time out somewhat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
43
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This awesome camp ground located at Haruru Falls Bay Of Islands called Haruru Falls Resort located right on the waters edge is one of the most fun destinations i have ever visited given the fact that i once lived in the Bay Of Islands (Paihia). I have been going up north now to this location almost every year for the past twenty something years and its never failed to entertain me. For starters the camp ground sports a rather large swimming pool to cool down in on those hot summer days which the kids just love and to top it off a restaurant and bar that provides great meals and a great social scene and you don't have to drive to get there which is a godsend. The host simply called Jan is wonderful and certainly knows her stuff when it comes to running the joint. The people who work there are also quiet knowledgeable when it comes to asking for information on day adventures etc. Most of the campers here are family people whom it doesn't take long to get to know due to that great social environment and that's what makes this place such a special place. if your a keen boatie then the boat ramp is right there. Rob Purkis

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Whoever that lady was at the front counter, should be ashamed or fired.
Rude does not begin to cover her treatment of me and my friends. She was rude when we made a booking, and rude when we checked in. The showers are like pressureless dribbles, and the rooms didnt have a sink, so you had to use the bathroom taps (eww) to drink out of.
When we got up the next morning, my friend noticed the toilet was leaking, and running along the floor, I went and told the manager/ owner(?)
who went and had a look, to then accuse us of breaking it! -The toilet porsaline stem had a crack in it. and then tried to make us pay for it! when i had told her about five times that i wasnt paying for a toilet that we didnt break, she then asked whether we "fell" or "jumped"on it. i left very angry, and feeling like a criminal, only to get another phone call saying i had to pay $200-300 for it! Never again! If i hadnt stayed her using a coupon, i would have asked for a refund!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This place is situated in a great location however the place was a great let down. The cabin we stayed in was rough, dirty and way over priced. The bathrooms also looked like they had not seen any type of cleaning product for a very long time. Also, the person who appeared to be the manager was extremely rude and uninviting which was unfortunate as the receptionist who I was dealing with was polite, friendly and making a good impression until the manager came along. Definately advise to avoid this place if you can as it doesn't seem to be worth the money they ask.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This is one of the most terrible places I have ever stay. The staff were rude, the rooms dirty and the room we got as a couple had 3 single beds. The shower had no presure. The only good thing about the whole experience was the location and pool

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

What a fantastic place to stay! - we had 2 nights here - 1 either side of a night on the Fullers boat Ipipiri - Jan and her team were absolutely brilliant - they went out of their way to make our stay so enjoyable - happy to make recommendations of various items of interest around the area - the meals we had in the restauraunt were excellent - we would happily recommend to anyone else looking for somewhere to stay in Paihia

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Loved every minute of this idyllic spot. Management extremely helpful. If we had known how good this place was we would have organised our holiday so we stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haruru Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haruru Falls Resort

Address: Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haruru Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Haruru Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel Paihia
Haruru Falls Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haruru Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.