We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ex-cell-ent!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tanoa Paihia Hotel to your Saves list
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ex-cell-ent!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great location with only a 2 minute walk down the road to the township. Room was beautifully set up, with beautiful bedding. Has a spa but pool is not heated and not really suited for children. Didn't have a chance to try the buffet dinner or breakfast, but what was served looked great!

Overall, highly recommended A+

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    26
    13
    16
See reviews for
23
49
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is about a 2 minute walk (if that) to the main street of Paihia. It's at the bottom of the hill too, so there's not much uphil walking involved. You're also in walking distance to the jetty which is where all the day trips for the Bay of Islands leave from. There's a nice little place not too far either on the street that runs parallel to the main street called Pipi Patch! And a cute little restaurant a little further down called Tito's!

The rooms were nice as well, althought there isn't much of a sound barrier between you and the people talking outside, we got woken up quite a few times by the other people in our group, and the walls were very thin we could hear the conversation on the other side of the room, but the beds and room itself, I couldnt fault :)

There isn't really any point paying for breakfast either, as all they gave us was toast and "fresh" fruit, but it was just out of a can.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Seemed like a cheap and tidy place was within walking distance to town centre. We stayed for two nights and it was ok as we were out most of the day vesting the bay of islands. The bedroom had an extra bed and hence the room a little cramp.

The room was very basic. If you opened the bathroom window at the back, the mosquitoes came in.
The swimming pool (which we did not use) is far from the impression on the website being on the large side. We used the hot tub, which we enjoyed after a whole day out, but did not find it very private.

The staff was very friendly and the restaurant food choice was good.
We would not mind staying here again if the price is right

Room Tip: If downstairs room ensure you keep the back window shut as mosquitoes may be the unwanted species.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Well the room had kind of a old look. It had a deserted kind of feel there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Got a discount for the room & so glad we stayed there for our holiday. The hotel may seem a bit out of the way but really, it's less than 10 mins' walk to town & to the ferry point. Staff was friendly and helpful & room was comfortable. Camera left behind was also returned which I'm so grateful of as all our holiday pictures were in it. A great tip I also appreciated from the staff was the best place to see the Haruru Falls - at the Resort Panorama, where anyone can just enter & view. There's also a happy church next door if you are looking for one. The joyful music drew me there & I attended it. So, good experience overall and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Was here for 4 nights the room was tidy and good to see another place using the option of if you want to have your sheets and towels changed every day. The only things wrong is the carpet has an iron burn in it and the shower door did not close properly so all the towels were always used to clean up the water. But would stay there again overall it's ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

A cheap and clean hotel, a little out of the way but still within walking distance of the town centre. Friendly staff. The only negative was an overpriced continental breakfast that was very ordinary in quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tanoa Paihia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Address: 5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanoa Paihia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tanoa Paihia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Paihia Hotel Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanoa Paihia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.