We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mousetrap Backpackers

Save Saved
You added The Mousetrap Backpackers to your Saves list
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mousetrap Backpackers
11 Kings Rd, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty lodging in Paihia
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Beautiful, little hostel in Paihia with a quiet, cozy atmosphere.
Staff is nice, rooms are comfortable and completely clean.
Well-equipped kitchen with seaview.
Perfect place for a good sleep and for feeling at home abroad in the livingroom-like social area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived after a very long day of driving and we're met by very friendly staff and guests who asked us to join them for a barbecue and fireworks night. unfortunately the weather was awful and kind put the brakes on that but the offer was appreciated.
The room and all communal facilities were spotless.
Also, the 11pm quiet policy was a great one which everyone observed.
All in all a really good, value for money hostel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Location
A very nice location directly at the Paihia beach. You can see it while having your breakfast. A smaller more expensiv grocery store is within 200 m. A CountDown supermarket is more away. You can walk there in abount 35 minutes or take a care. The backpackers has free bikes.
Stuff
Lovely and friendly stuff. They really want you to make yourself a home!

Cleaness
Kitchen and bathrooms and toilets are cleaned every morning by backpackers which are working there for free accomdation. It's very clean.

Livingroom
Awesome! To big livingrooms each with two big black leather couches and a real oven! Checkout the pictures on it's website. They're real!

Kitchen
There are three kitchens. Both very well equiped. You won't miss anything. Even during a pot party with more then twelve cookers.. there was enough equipment.

Wi-Fi
50 mb free Wi-Fi each day of your stay. This is not a lot, but it is better then nothing. It should be free like in backpackers in Canda. There is a computer which you can use for bigger uploads. It's two kiwi bucks per 30 min but it has no limitation on traffic!

Heater
The rooms have installations of real non heatings. With oil or hot water. No electronic heaters needed. High five!!!


Danke für den toolen Aufenthalt! Gruß Spinatschafskäse-Lasange.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On arrival, the owner showed us around the backpackers, negotiated a good price and gave us a great little room. The multiple kitchens had plenty of utensils and cooking equipment, including an oven. There were nice, cosy lounges, well-presented gardens and a lovely balcony with seating provided. The bathrooms were fine and the hostel was clean. We hired out bikes for free, which was great fun! Overall, a lovely, quiet place in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed in a private room, with shared bathrooms. All facilities were good, a few small kitchens, with old, but functional equipment. Very nice homely feel here, small and friendly. Views from the top floor veranda were nice, of the beach. My room was very small, but a double bed, bedside table, and chair, with good timed heating, and 2 windows - really all you need. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am a solo traveller and the first time i stay in the backpacker inn. I always thought that a backpacker inn must be very dirty and everything in a mess, must be very noisy but to my surprise, the place was so clean and quiet. The atmosphere was so good that you feel you were staying in the resort area.
I like the balcony, every morning and evening I sat there watching the pacific occean and the moonlight shines on my glass of wine, feeling so good and homely.
the owner Nikki and Jake both are very helpful and nice to the customer.
Will love to stay again. Highly recommended. I stay for 7 days.
Thank you Nikki and Jake. All the best
Eileen

Room Tip: I am staying in twin room at room no 4. a good and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here twice - first time in a twin room at the back of the property I think, this was fine.
My second stay was on a Fri and Sat night ..... whilst the hostel operates a quiet policy, the surrounding hostels/bars clearly don't. Didn't get much sleep due to the noise after 11pm, room was at the front of the property, it was too hot to sleep with all the windows shut. I had ear plugs with me - definitely needed. I was hopeful given other reviews about it not being a party hostel that I'd be ok over a weekend stay. Unfortunately the Kiwi Experience bus was in at the same time, and 2 of their members were in our room on the Sat night, 1 of whom was up for most of the night and then they both set alarms for 6am. I appreciate there's not much the hostel can do in this regard, it was just a shame to have had so little sleep for 2 nights running.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mousetrap Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mousetrap Backpackers

Address: 11 Kings Rd, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your The Mousetrap Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mousetrap Backpackers Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mousetrap Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.