We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bella Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Bella Motel to your Saves list
Casa Bella Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   3 MacMurray Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our 4 nights here in January 2013. Reasonable price for the time of year, it is a very clean and quiet motel just off the main road but only short walk from the beach. Nice pool area too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Overall experience was good. Staff was helpful for providing extra blankets and kitchen.. I enjoyed my stay. Location was perfect walking distance to pahihia I centre, market and wharf. Overall cleaning was acceptable as well.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

2 star , 3/10
80's Decor ; Kitchen , toilet / hower , Joint bed room.
Hotter than Hell in summer.
No Airconditioning , No Fans or flyscreens , the windows only open 6". Small "backyard" sized swimming pool.
Staff seemed nice enough and the place was clean.
Close to activities and restraunts.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Casa Bella Motel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
You might find that a modern motel with air-conditioning and a large pool would cost you a bit more. We pride ourselves on offering clean, affordable accommodation.
As mentioned in the guest compendium, fans are available if requested. Most of the time in summer the temperatures are a pleasant 23-26 deg C during the day, falling to 15-20 deg C overnight, certainly cooler than Hell.
The windows open partially for security reasons and fly screens aren't necessary in Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmic Harbour, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were there only 2 nights (Dec.30/31). Didn't want to leave. Friendly staff, great area, wish we had time to play tennis. Perfect location to be so close to what's happening without being ON the busy strip...our first taste of New Zealand was made even better by this location. We are inclined to "self-cater". The kitchenette had everything we needed, and we dined El Fresco on the patio. Cheers!

Room Tip: Can't imagine that there would be a room that wasn't good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked into this Motel going from what the pictures and the reviews were. When booking, I asked if the Swimming Pool was available for use and was told yes. When we arrived, the receptionist questioned our deposit. Next morning, the owners didn't know what was available with regards to attractions. The swimming pool was disgusting. It was green and had dead bugs floating in it. The other Motels that had pools were lovely and clean and had people swimming in them. As we had specifically wanted the use of a pool, I was very disappointed. On night one, there was a massive black spider in the bed. The kitchen had ants everywhere and no food was out. Considering what we paid, I was extremely disappointed. I feel that the pictures on the web page are not a true representation of the Motel. I would have thought that at such a peak holiday time that the Pool would look like the pictures and be usable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Casa Bella Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review Jannine. I'm sorry the pool wasn't at it's best. It's the busiest time of the year for us and I didn't respond quickly enough to it's deterioration. Increased usage and temperature meant it needed more chlorine than usual. I have since rectified it and it is clear and clean. I will be more vigilant in future.
We spray entry points to try and keep out insects but some are very resilient. Spiders always seem to be able to sneak in when doors and windows are open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed the outdoor spa tub. Very clean unit. Quiet neighbourhood very close to the restaurants and beach. Gary and Jocelyn were very helpful. They have guest laundry and DVD players upon request. While you're in Paihia, I recommend going to the falls nearby & walking along the river by the falls. We did this on a rainy day which was fine as the tree coverage was so dense the rain didn't get through. The swimming pool is small (about the size of a car so no swimming laps;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lovely motel with very helpful hosts. The room was spotless and the kitchenette well equipped for us to cook some meals for ourselves. It is a short walk to the wharf, to central Paihia and to restaurants. It has a nice looking pool, but it was too cold to swim when we were there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Motel

Address: 3 MacMurray Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Bella Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Bella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paihia
Casa Bella Hotel
Casa Bella Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bella Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.