We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, nice kitchen, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bella Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Bella Motel to your Saves list
Casa Bella Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   3 MacMurray Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, nice kitchen, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed the outdoor spa tub. Very clean unit. Quiet neighbourhood very close to the restaurants and beach. Gary and Jocelyn were very helpful. They have guest laundry and DVD players upon request. While you're in Paihia, I recommend going to the falls nearby & walking along the river by the falls. We did this on a rainy day which was fine as the tree coverage was so dense the rain didn't get through. The swimming pool is small (about the size of a car so no swimming laps;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lovely motel with very helpful hosts. The room was spotless and the kitchenette well equipped for us to cook some meals for ourselves. It is a short walk to the wharf, to central Paihia and to restaurants. It has a nice looking pool, but it was too cold to swim when we were there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over the weekend. We found the motel room to be clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The property was within easy walking distance of cafes and restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I just spent two nights here on a weekend away with my mum. The unit had everything we needed, was clean with new carpet and comfortable beds, quiet and fairly central to everything. We could walk to shops, the beach and restaurants and even to catch the ferry over to Russell. The hosts were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here over the Labour Day long weekend - was quite busy in Paihia at the time. This hotel is well located close to town but just enough away that you don't get the noise. Parking a little tight but right in front of room - potplants get in the way a bit of getting luggage in if most parks are taken as they were on this weekend. Room itself was spacious with a kitchen bench area and separate area for bathroom basin leading to toilet and shower. Nice hosts - a good stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in this motel for one "big weekend" (weekend with public holiday on Monday). The place is good, big room with all facilities in the kitchen, electric blanket, heater, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpfully. The motel is near to the beach, and lots of good restaurants to visit. The bedroom was a little bit cold (even I turn on the electric blanket) and the swimming pool and spa pool was not open for us, I don't know why.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Casa Bella Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you found the room a bit cold. We could have given you an extra heater if you had asked. I'm not sure why you thought the spa and pool were not available, the spa was quite popular with the other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very good hosts, they made sure we felt welcomed. The rooms are clean, spacious and functional.Our group rented four studio units with one double and one single bed each unit. All unit also has a complete kitchen facilities. They have a small pool which I think is good enough. I like the location, its not close to the busy road so its guaranteed that you'll have a good night sleep but the beach is only 200 meters away. The historic Waitangi grounds and the amazing Haruru falls is only 5 and 10 minutes drive. It was off season when we came there and they gave us an excellent deal. We are already planning to come back this December and March.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casa_bel, Manager at Casa Bella Motel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Motel

Address: 3 MacMurray Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Bella Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Bella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paihia
Casa Bella Hotel
Casa Bella Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bella Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.