We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a luxury suite with fantastic views over the bay, large spa bath which was a great relax at the end of the day. Very clean and well equipped kitchen and well set out bathroom with sep toilet and large shower. Great couple of days thank you Kingsgate

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the bay are worth maybe a bit extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    95
    27
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
108
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We booked a Grabone deal that was very cheap for what we got so we had a ground floor room with no view but it was excellent. It was a great size, very clean, huge shower and everything we needed. Had a heat pump, very comfy bed and plenty of room to hang out in. We didn't use the pool as it was too chilly for us but saw kids playing in there and it looked lovely. There is seating around the pool. We used the spa pool which was great, you need to book a time slot and it was very busy so get in early. We had a drink in the bar (free drinks with our deal) and the staff were great and the atmosphere was buzzing. We didn't eat dinner but had the breakfast buffet and it was excellent. A great choice, the hot food was hot and even though the coffee was out of a machine it was very good. My husband used the gym and it had everything he needed. All in all was a great stay with no complaints and would stay here again for sure. It is a great location as you walk out of the door and are in the heart of Paihia, close to the shops and eating places and the ferry.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very nice, comfy beds, excellent laundry facilities available. Great position, lovely resort. Nice swimming pool and outside sunbathing / lounge area. Food great both breakfasts and dinner.
The bathroom could be better, it is wet room style but there are no grab handles or rubber safety floor mat, one of our party had an accident as a result, the sink is not separated from the sleeping area by a bathroom door - a bit odd.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. Due to space constraints hotel bathrooms are always a compromise. When we designed these rooms we decided we wanted the toilet to be separate from the rest of the bathroom. This meant we could only separate the sink from the room by a wall and not a door. Personally I find it so much better not having the toilet, shower and sink all in the same bathroom.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I escorted a group of elderly guests from overseas. The rooms were perfect, they gave us ground floor rooms for easy access. Good, clean bathrooms and good beds too.
The ice dispensers in the corridor were a boon too !

Room Tip: They're all good rooms. I'd personally avoid the front rooms, which one would automatically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for your response and I am pleased you found our facilities so good for your group.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling with a group. Unfortunately on arrival an error had occurred regarding room allocations. Although the mistake wasnt on the part of the 2 guests (me included) no acknowledgement was made of this fact and we were made to feel nuisances because the hotel had to find sole occupancy rooms for us. No apology was offered. The location of this hotel is in a wonderful area and the views across the water were incredible. We had meals in the restaurant which were very good. Staff were very distant and not friendly. It was almost like having large coach groups stay was an inconvenience. Luckily it is such a beautiful part of New Zealand and we enjoyed the Bay of Islands and even the small town of Paihia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for the problems you encountered at check in. We have not been able to pinpoint the group you were on to see if this was due to our mistake or a mistake by your group organiser. However I apologise that you felt this situation was not handled correctly.
We normally get good comments about the friendliness of our staff and I am sorry you did not feel this was the case.
However I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Paihia and the Bay of Islands.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a Grand Pacific Tour. The Kingsgate is on the waterfront with a front and rear access .... close to shops and restaurants and only a few minutes walk to the wharf if going on a cruise. Our room was a reasonable size with a desk and chair, the bathroom clean ... we did have a slight problem with the toilet seat (needed tightening up) which was reported on our arrival but not fixed. The bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet. We had meals in the restaurant each night, and breakfasts each morning with a good selection of food. The staff were friendly and helpful ... both in the hotel and the restaurant/bar area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed overnight in room with a beautiful view over the bay. The staff were very pleasant to deal with, the accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Loved the view from the room, waking up to see two cruise ships in the morning was a treat. Waitangi is a must for all Kiwis.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.