We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Snug
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Kingsgate Hotel, we took advantage of some time in the private spa room, enjoyed a complimentary drink in the bar. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. No complaints and great value. Would stay again happily.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    115
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
134
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

2nd time there & going back again. Stayed in 2 brm apartment-it was lovely. The views fantastic & had everything we need. Lovely receptionist/staff, they were very friendly & so helpful. Had family visit us & they enjoyed it there so much, they want to come back to stay 2. Thanks for an awesome weekend-look forward to our next stay :-)

Room Tip: 2brm apartment has everything going for it-best views. Wouldn't go to any other room now as it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed there twice in September and October 2013. Spacious rooms with ensuite bathroom with excellent double size large shower. Friendly staff. Large heated swimming pool and separate bookable private spa room. Restaurant on site with full stocked bar. Breakfast and dinner caters for all ages with specials. The roasts are delicious. Sited on the waterfront in Paihia and minutes from the ferry service to historic Russell. Would definitely stay here next time in the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in a suite right at the front on site. Only a road between us and beach. 5 min walk to resturants. 1/2 walk to waitangi. We ate in hotel resturant one night - very pleasant. Resturant guide in toom a bit out of date. Found it best to walk to town to find resturants. Very enjoyable few days in Paihia.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Family holiday for 4 nights. Nice place with beautiful pool area, & the kids enjoyed the games room. Room cleaned well. Lost mark for not overly friendly reception staff. Didn't ask how our stay was or if everything was up to scratch. Value was great due to a deal we got with interconnecting rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked a family holiday for Fri/Sat in advance then decided to go on holiday a day earlier, phoned hotel to ensure vacancy no hassles to add extra days, also due to the great weather made the most of it and stayed a extra day longer. late check out carried over, No hassles, competitive pricing.

Booked room with two double beds - room was upstairs, view of ocean between buildings with small balcony, room was clean and well maintained, fridge and tea making facilities in room, well kept grounds, a lot of off street parking.

Ice, gym, laundry powder, towels, swimming pool, spa, bikes, games room available at no extra charges. Washing machines and dryer have a small charge for usage.

Hotel gives option for going green saving on towels etc, sensor lighting, efficient lighting ie have to use card to lights in room however would like to see more paper/bottle recycling available to guests.

Quiet location, handy for restaurants, shops, passenger ferry, boat trips, beach..
Awesome breakfasts, yummy coffee in restaurant, kids loved the hash browns and bacon along with the friendly staff first thing in the morning. Great view from restaurant and pool area.

Would recommend and have now stayed a couple of times, will return. again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had booked a double room and got a room with 2 double beds. The room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately we did not get a room with a great view however, if you are going to be out of the room most of the time, it does not make a difference.
They have a bar and a restaurant as well. The bar menu has been reasonably priced however, I would like to recommend the management that they should allow customers to occupy the tables that are on the restaurant side. We saw that there were many guests at the bar however, we were politely asked to sit on the bar side which does not have a good view. The restaurant tables near the windows have a splendid view and I would have really enjoyed myself if we would have got one of those tables. Since all the tables at the restaurant seemed empty, I it did not look welcoming.
Nice accommodation. Did not find anything wrong otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Due to the layout of our hotel our rooms do not get a view however our suites have great views over the water. The front tables in our restaurant do get great views however as you can understand we need to reserve these tables for the use of our restaurant clients. Now that we are getting into the warmer summer months it will be possible to use the veranda around the bar which gives views over the water.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.