We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable, great location, but thin walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Halifax
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable, great location, but thin walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Room description:
- Large room with two double beds
- Small table with a single chair
- Small working space with a single chair
- Bedside tables
- Reading lamps
- TV
- Small fridge
- Tea/coffee-making supplies including a selection of teas, coffees, sugar, milk, cups, teacups, saucers, spoons, dishcloth
- Large bathroom, handicap accessible, with large tub, separate shower, large sink basin
- New furnishings in excellent shape
- Wall of windows along the front, windows in the bathroom
- Blackout curtains on the windows

Pros:
- Spacious room
- New furnishings
- Plenty of horizontal surfaces to place belongings and a small closet to hang clothes
- Recently refurbished bathroom
- Pleasant staff
- Great 'extras' including a pool, spa pool, games room, free bicycles/helmets
- Outstanding location right on the Paihia waterfront
- SKY channels
- Small fridge with milk
- Tea-making facilities
- Broadband connection in the room

Cons:
- Very thin walls that will make your sleep dependent on the consideration of your neighbours and their children
- Room was very clean except for the padded comforter on the bed which had blood and fluid stains plus several stray hairs: This may be a one-off, but we found it off-putting nevertheless (this covering was the layer UNDER the bedspread and over the sheets).
- Only one hook in the bathroom - no good places to hang bathroom kit, towels, etc.

We had a GrabOne coupon that gave us this room at half of the usual rate which made this hotel, especially given its location, a particularly good value. Under the assumption that other TripAdvisor readers will be paying full-price for the room, I've tried to rate it with the usual cost in mind. Even at full price, my sense is that the quality, spaciousness, and location make a room at this hotel a better option than similarly-priced options in the area: Hence, my 'very good' rating.

We would stay here again and can recommend it to other travelers but do caution light sleepers about the potential for noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    99
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
114
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on a special deal/ voucher. We were 2 adults & 2 children (ages 13 & 11). Our room was upstairs, well appointed & had enough room for 4 of us. There were coffee/tea making facilities, a small fridge, Sky TV. Room was well lighted with windows & a sliding door leading to a small balcony. The bathroom was clean & modern. Breakfast buffet was good & provided a variety of options. (The voucher we used included a discount on the breakfast and made it a good deal). Outdoor swimming pool is not heated though. The hotel is just a short walk from the restaurants & shops. Staff were friendly & helpful. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, was a perfect location right across from the water. We were lucky enough to have a suite with views to the water. The suite was very well appointed, with quality fittings, spa bath, kitchenette, hugh TV, comfortable bed, lounge. Spa pool, swimming pool and games room will see the kids entertained. Easy walking distance to everything. A 5 out of 5 from me for the actual accommodation. What brought it down to a 4 out of 5 though, was the only disppointment for me which was the onsite restaurant. The evening we were there, they had a carvery evening and visitors were given a 10% discount, however I wish we had gone down to the 35 degrees waterfront bar and restaurant, because the Kingsgate restaurant had tough leathery steaks, undercooked vegetables, overcooked potatoes and soggy tempura. Even the breakfast the followng morning tatsed like it had been mass produced - the food was a letdown on what was otherwise a very comfortable stay, I would say eat out! :o)

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 201 which gives you the northerly sea views and views of the islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. However I apologise for the fact that you were not satisfied with your meals. Normally we get very good feedback on our meals, especially our Carvery and Buffets. However I will pass your comments onto our chef.


Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We picked up a voucher on a one day site which gave us the opportunity to take a few days off over a weekend for some much needed rest and relaxation.

We stayed in one of the rooms in the new section of the hotel. The rooms were clean an The fittings were modern and the bathroom lovely. We were disappointed with the bed as this was a well worn spring bed which sank in the middle. This resulted in a rather uncomfortable nights sleep. We also found rubbish (grape stalks) on the floor which must have been from previous guests. This did make me wonder about the housekeeping. The bathroom facilities were very clean and the bedding appeared to be clean as well.

We had two rooms of very noisy neighbours below us which were in and out of their rooms constantly. The room doors are very heavy spring loaded doors. Every time someone in the block closes one of these doors, it results in an earth shattering bang. We counted 50+ closes in 10 minutes. Reporting this to the front desk did not result in much change in behaviour. I can only assume that our complaint was either not followed up or that the guests ignored requests to quieten down. Either way, this woke us late at night and disturbed our sleep mid afternoon (when we tried to catch up on lost sleep from the night before).

The hotel staff were very friendly.

This hotel is situated right on the water front in very beautiful little town. I think if it were not for our inconsiderate neighbours and the lack of action relating to their noise, we may have rated this hotel a 4/5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the disruption caused by your noisy neighbours going in and out of their rooms. These doors are self closing fire rated doors as required by the NZ fire regulations to protect lives in the unlikely event of a fire and they do tend to close firmly to achieve this protection. Your complaint was followed up by our staff but unfortunately we do occasionally get guests who show no consideration for other guests and this does become a very difficult situation.
Also thank you for your comment regarding your bed. Although both beds in these rooms are relatively new we will be inspecting our beds over the next few months to make sure they are up to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location, right across from the water. The private spa was amazing!!!! Staff were very friendly and helpful and they had complimentary parking and short time for free wifi in the reception. They had a games room, with the window looking out to the bay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

the hotel is situated on the waterfront,giving it excellent views of the Bay of Islands.It was also just a short walk to the harbour. The rooms were clean and comfortable.The staff were friendly and efficient and were very helpful. Breakfast was good and the evening buffet meals were more than satisfactory. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Realy nice and good place to stay, very quite as well and right in front of the beach. Wouls surely come again. Very clean and tidy as well, room service was fine, have games and spa room which are free and fine relaxing as well.

Room Tip: Any room I guess would be fine, first floor or ground floor or may be beach facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.