We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, was a perfect location right across from the water. We were lucky enough to have a suite with views to the water. The suite was very well appointed, with quality fittings, spa bath, kitchenette, hugh TV, comfortable bed, lounge. Spa pool, swimming pool and games room will see the kids entertained. Easy walking distance to everything. A 5 out of 5 from me for the actual accommodation. What brought it down to a 4 out of 5 though, was the only disppointment for me which was the onsite restaurant. The evening we were there, they had a carvery evening and visitors were given a 10% discount, however I wish we had gone down to the 35 degrees waterfront bar and restaurant, because the Kingsgate restaurant had tough leathery steaks, undercooked vegetables, overcooked potatoes and soggy tempura. Even the breakfast the followng morning tatsed like it had been mass produced - the food was a letdown on what was otherwise a very comfortable stay, I would say eat out! :o)

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 201 which gives you the northerly sea views and views of the islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. However I apologise for the fact that you were not satisfied with your meals. Normally we get very good feedback on our meals, especially our Carvery and Buffets. However I will pass your comments onto our chef.


Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    95
    27
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
108
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We picked up a voucher on a one day site which gave us the opportunity to take a few days off over a weekend for some much needed rest and relaxation.

We stayed in one of the rooms in the new section of the hotel. The rooms were clean an The fittings were modern and the bathroom lovely. We were disappointed with the bed as this was a well worn spring bed which sank in the middle. This resulted in a rather uncomfortable nights sleep. We also found rubbish (grape stalks) on the floor which must have been from previous guests. This did make me wonder about the housekeeping. The bathroom facilities were very clean and the bedding appeared to be clean as well.

We had two rooms of very noisy neighbours below us which were in and out of their rooms constantly. The room doors are very heavy spring loaded doors. Every time someone in the block closes one of these doors, it results in an earth shattering bang. We counted 50+ closes in 10 minutes. Reporting this to the front desk did not result in much change in behaviour. I can only assume that our complaint was either not followed up or that the guests ignored requests to quieten down. Either way, this woke us late at night and disturbed our sleep mid afternoon (when we tried to catch up on lost sleep from the night before).

The hotel staff were very friendly.

This hotel is situated right on the water front in very beautiful little town. I think if it were not for our inconsiderate neighbours and the lack of action relating to their noise, we may have rated this hotel a 4/5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the disruption caused by your noisy neighbours going in and out of their rooms. These doors are self closing fire rated doors as required by the NZ fire regulations to protect lives in the unlikely event of a fire and they do tend to close firmly to achieve this protection. Your complaint was followed up by our staff but unfortunately we do occasionally get guests who show no consideration for other guests and this does become a very difficult situation.
Also thank you for your comment regarding your bed. Although both beds in these rooms are relatively new we will be inspecting our beds over the next few months to make sure they are up to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location, right across from the water. The private spa was amazing!!!! Staff were very friendly and helpful and they had complimentary parking and short time for free wifi in the reception. They had a games room, with the window looking out to the bay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

the hotel is situated on the waterfront,giving it excellent views of the Bay of Islands.It was also just a short walk to the harbour. The rooms were clean and comfortable.The staff were friendly and efficient and were very helpful. Breakfast was good and the evening buffet meals were more than satisfactory. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Realy nice and good place to stay, very quite as well and right in front of the beach. Wouls surely come again. Very clean and tidy as well, room service was fine, have games and spa room which are free and fine relaxing as well.

Room Tip: Any room I guess would be fine, first floor or ground floor or may be beach facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent one night here over the easter weekend, Overall it was a lovely stay! Friendly staff, especially the lovely tall blonde waitress that served us for evening drinks (sorry I didn't get your name) amazing friendly service!
Check in and check out was very fast, maybe mentioning the location of the breakfast that came with our room would of been nice...though it didn't take us long to find.
Rooms are simple but good enough for a short stay.
The only real problem was the occupants in the rooms on our floor. It looked as though every room on our ground floor was taken up by a tour group, that also included families with young children aged 5-10. the had been left by parents to run up and down the corridor at night opening and closing doors constantly with loud yelling. This wasn't so much a problem until it happened very early the morning of our check out! It annoyed the couple in the room opposite us so much they got up I'm there pjs to Give them a piece of there mind. Not ideal when you look forward to a sleep in, it was still pitch black with streetlights on. Rooms are not soundproof either. I asked for a late check out , they could only give me an extra 45mins as the had another tour group booking..... So maybe request a room that will be far away from any large groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I apologise for the disruption created by other guests. We do our best to limit the noise and disruption created by other guests and in the past have asked disruptive guests to leave the hotel. However I am pleased that the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occassions. It is in an excellent location right across from the Wharf, restaurants and shops. The breadfasts and buffet dinners are fantastic and the staff is always friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you or your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;