We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Howick, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occassions. It is in an excellent location right across from the Wharf, restaurants and shops. The breadfasts and buffet dinners are fantastic and the staff is always friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you or your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    95
    27
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
108
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

great accomodation, excellent room, warm friendly greeting and staff plus a welcome drink cant be bad, right on waterfront, near everything a very pleasant stay and lots of great foods close by in particular the indian restaurant nearby is excellent value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here to enable us to get to Cape Reinga.
The room was clean, although we did find a bag of rubbish from the previous occupant hanging on the balcony, if a little basic.
It has a nice location, although only some of the rooms will have a clear view of the bay.
It was quiet, expect for some altercation in a neighbouring motel on our second night, but it served its purpose for our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I apologise for the rubbish on your balcony however I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Only some of our rooms have a view of the bay but we do have suites that look over the bay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Located across the road from the bay with unobstructed views across the bay this hotel is comfortable and basic but it does cater for the touring coach party trade which leads to busy mealtimes (although mealtimes are staggered to suit different groups). That said the food was plentiful and wholesome and suitable for most palettes. The downside was that Internet connection was poor and although advertised as half hour daily slots had a megabyte gap which was speedily consumed once you start posting photographs to Facebook or send by e-mail.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are currently looking at Internet options.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here while exploring the area. Rooms were clean, straight forward, quiet. Staff were very helpful. Great spot to walk to all locations. Ate upstairs one night and tried the buffet. Good selection and great views of the bay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I booked two rooms and had three international guests traveling with us with limited English language ability. The rooms were good and clean. Reception staff were friendly and professional. Breakfast selection was good however when our friends were seated by the window the staff member looking after the breakfast area moved our friend's plates and food to another table (non-window) without asking her while she was getting more food! Our friend thought this was a bit "rude" and we felt that the staff member could have "made an effort" to communicate with our friend or us first. Also the toilet pressure is a bit low as they have a "water saving function" installed. We would stay again but not with international guests. Handy to shops and cruises but we feel that the breakfast area could be managed better. Also the car parking is not numbered so other guests can park in front of your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I apologise for our staff member moving your friends breakfast plate without explanation. We will talk to the breakfast staff about this as I am not aware of it happening before.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room was a little basic and small with queen size beds that were acceptable in comfort. The bathroom area was basic and split into 3 separate rooms / areas in a funny configuration. The separate toilet felt a little too close off the lounge area for privacy. The tv was a small old fashioned box (thought these were long extinct). Very clean. The doors to the units are heavy with an auto closer that bangs the door loudly. We were on the ground floor with young people next door so the regular door noise was loud and clear.Combined with alot of cars parked right outside the doors meant there wasnt much chance of a sleep in. But the pool is FABULOUS - heated just enough to take off the chill with an exceptional waterfront outlook but more loungers needed - 6 is completely inadequate and I was extremely lucky to get one after waiting an hour. Wouldnt stay again as rooms just a little too basic. Advise to get an upstairs room to reduce carpark noise.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room definitely to avoid carpark noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will be replacing the last of our old TVs within the next 4 - 6 weeks with modern flat screen TVs. The heavy doors and door closers are a requirement of the New Zealand fire safety standards to contain a fire if we ever had one.
I am pleased that you enjoyed our pool area. Thank you for your comment regarding sun loungers, normally we have more than enough however we will look into increasing these for next summer

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.