We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here while exploring the area. Rooms were clean, straight forward, quiet. Staff were very helpful. Great spot to walk to all locations. Ate upstairs one night and tried the buffet. Good selection and great views of the bay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    104
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
119
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I booked two rooms and had three international guests traveling with us with limited English language ability. The rooms were good and clean. Reception staff were friendly and professional. Breakfast selection was good however when our friends were seated by the window the staff member looking after the breakfast area moved our friend's plates and food to another table (non-window) without asking her while she was getting more food! Our friend thought this was a bit "rude" and we felt that the staff member could have "made an effort" to communicate with our friend or us first. Also the toilet pressure is a bit low as they have a "water saving function" installed. We would stay again but not with international guests. Handy to shops and cruises but we feel that the breakfast area could be managed better. Also the car parking is not numbered so other guests can park in front of your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I apologise for our staff member moving your friends breakfast plate without explanation. We will talk to the breakfast staff about this as I am not aware of it happening before.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room was a little basic and small with queen size beds that were acceptable in comfort. The bathroom area was basic and split into 3 separate rooms / areas in a funny configuration. The separate toilet felt a little too close off the lounge area for privacy. The tv was a small old fashioned box (thought these were long extinct). Very clean. The doors to the units are heavy with an auto closer that bangs the door loudly. We were on the ground floor with young people next door so the regular door noise was loud and clear.Combined with alot of cars parked right outside the doors meant there wasnt much chance of a sleep in. But the pool is FABULOUS - heated just enough to take off the chill with an exceptional waterfront outlook but more loungers needed - 6 is completely inadequate and I was extremely lucky to get one after waiting an hour. Wouldnt stay again as rooms just a little too basic. Advise to get an upstairs room to reduce carpark noise.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room definitely to avoid carpark noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will be replacing the last of our old TVs within the next 4 - 6 weeks with modern flat screen TVs. The heavy doors and door closers are a requirement of the New Zealand fire safety standards to contain a fire if we ever had one.
I am pleased that you enjoyed our pool area. Thank you for your comment regarding sun loungers, normally we have more than enough however we will look into increasing these for next summer

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were booked in for 3 nights in a studio room but we left after only one night. We found it to be very basic. There was only a small cupboard with a bar fridge, a couple of glasses and cups and some drink sachets. There were no plates or bowls. You had to fill the jug up in the bathroom and it hardly fit in the sink which made it very awkward. The staff were very friendly though. On the plus side the night we stayed had the Buffet on. The food was amazing with a great selection. At $39 pp it was well worth it. The staff in the restaurant were so friendly and we were well looked after.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed our buffet and that you found our staff to be friendly.
However I am surprised about your comment about our standard rooms being a bit basic as we have spent a substantial amount of money on these rooms in the last four years. We don't supply any plates or bowls in these rooms as there are no cooking facilities provided. However this is the standard situation in all hotel rooms in New Zealand. We have also put high spouts in our sinks to make it easier to fill the electric jug.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were two couples starting out a trip sailing around The Bay of Islands. We came across Kingsgate by reading Trip Advisor reviews. Once again they didn't steer us wrong. Large 2 bedroom suite, comfy beds, fabulous large balcony overlooking the pool and water, and walking distance to shops and restaurants. I would have given it 5 stars but the wifi setup is rediculous. They say you get 15 minutes free in the lobby but it was more like 5. Come on New Zealand. At least offer free unlimited wifi in the lobby. This is 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.
Unfortunately free Wifi is one of the issues that all hotels are grappling with due to the high cost of internet service in New Zealand. We are currently looking at our whole Wifi situation in this hotel and hope to find a satisfactory solution to this problem.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hi there , my new husband and i stayed at this hotel last week and we loved it - it was the best hotel that we stayed in during our honeymoon. The staff were great very helpful and on to it! We got a lovely bottle of wine and chocolates when we arrived which was an awesome touch. and the room was really nice- very modern and very clean, beautiful views too was an extra bonus. We also got the dinner buffet one night - YUMMY!
Thank you guys so much - we will be visiting you next time we are in Paihia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Kingsgate, Paihia. We stayed on the top floor in one of the sea facing apartments. It is a decent sized apartment with a bedroom, toilet, bathroom, kitchen, lounge and balcony. It is an easy 4 minute walk from the hotel to the pier and central Paihia which meant that we could literally park the car in the hotel parking and not touch it for 2 days. The apartments private balcony is great to sit on with some locally caught fish and chips and a beer in the evening as you watch the sun set and the world go by. The hotels salt water swimming pool catches all day sun and is also a nice asset to the pool. Included in the price of our room was a Buffett breakfast which set us up for the day ahead, my only niggle is that breakfast is served between 7.30am & 9.30am - 10am would be a little more friendly for people on holiday/long weekend (although once you are up you really do make the most of the sleepy Paihia retreat). The hotel also has a game room that houses a pool table, table tennis, foosball and an air hockey table - The games room is conveniently located by the swimming pool so if you have children (or are a big kid) then you are guaranteed some good entertainment. The Kingsgate also has bikes that guests of the hotel can make use of.

If you are looking for a nice, clean hotel with friendly staff in Paihia then consider the Kingsgate - Make sure you book a sea facing apartment though if you really want a touch of luxury, it is impossible to not wake up in a good mood when you have such a view!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.