We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were two couples starting out a trip sailing around The Bay of Islands. We came across Kingsgate by reading Trip Advisor reviews. Once again they didn't steer us wrong. Large 2 bedroom suite, comfy beds, fabulous large balcony overlooking the pool and water, and walking distance to shops and restaurants. I would have given it 5 stars but the wifi setup is rediculous. They say you get 15 minutes free in the lobby but it was more like 5. Come on New Zealand. At least offer free unlimited wifi in the lobby. This is 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.
Unfortunately free Wifi is one of the issues that all hotels are grappling with due to the high cost of internet service in New Zealand. We are currently looking at our whole Wifi situation in this hotel and hope to find a satisfactory solution to this problem.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    97
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
109
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hi there , my new husband and i stayed at this hotel last week and we loved it - it was the best hotel that we stayed in during our honeymoon. The staff were great very helpful and on to it! We got a lovely bottle of wine and chocolates when we arrived which was an awesome touch. and the room was really nice- very modern and very clean, beautiful views too was an extra bonus. We also got the dinner buffet one night - YUMMY!
Thank you guys so much - we will be visiting you next time we are in Paihia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Kingsgate, Paihia. We stayed on the top floor in one of the sea facing apartments. It is a decent sized apartment with a bedroom, toilet, bathroom, kitchen, lounge and balcony. It is an easy 4 minute walk from the hotel to the pier and central Paihia which meant that we could literally park the car in the hotel parking and not touch it for 2 days. The apartments private balcony is great to sit on with some locally caught fish and chips and a beer in the evening as you watch the sun set and the world go by. The hotels salt water swimming pool catches all day sun and is also a nice asset to the pool. Included in the price of our room was a Buffett breakfast which set us up for the day ahead, my only niggle is that breakfast is served between 7.30am & 9.30am - 10am would be a little more friendly for people on holiday/long weekend (although once you are up you really do make the most of the sleepy Paihia retreat). The hotel also has a game room that houses a pool table, table tennis, foosball and an air hockey table - The games room is conveniently located by the swimming pool so if you have children (or are a big kid) then you are guaranteed some good entertainment. The Kingsgate also has bikes that guests of the hotel can make use of.

If you are looking for a nice, clean hotel with friendly staff in Paihia then consider the Kingsgate - Make sure you book a sea facing apartment though if you really want a touch of luxury, it is impossible to not wake up in a good mood when you have such a view!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our first hotel during our 4 week trip to New Zealand. Fab location opposite sea and very close to the wharf where the ferry leaves for trips to Russell. Rooms good but no seaview unless you pay extra. Nice to relax by the pool after travelling up from Auckland. Paihia itself is lovely. All in all a great start to our trip.

Room Tip: If moneys not an issue the rooms overlooking the bay are worth it for the views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have stayed here a few times. the hotel location is ideal. Mel at reception is consistently friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and practical. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant is great ,with views over the bay-perfect way to start the day. Definite value for money...Will continue to stay here when visiting Paihia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Located on the sea front there are great views from the front of the hotel although most rooms are at the rear and don't have views. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Highlight for us was the restaurant which served great breakfasts and dinners. There are other restaurants in the vicinity but with such good food on offer we eat in every night.

There is a pool at the front but as it rained throughout our stay we were unable to try this out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is situated overlooking the magnificent Paihia bay with views to die for. There is an outdoor heated pool at the front of the premises where you can swim and sunbathe and enjoy the vista. The restaurant and bar, situated on the first floor, benefit from similar views and it is a gret shame that most of the rooms do not enjoy them as well, as most face to the side of the hotel. The rooms are massive and the three we had all had two queen size beds and were clean, comfortable and well appoitnted, including a small fridge. Paihia is a beautiful part of the country with plenty to appeal to both adults and kids, and the hotel is within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and other attractions. Breakfast was good but a little expensive and could be obtained cheaper within a two minute walk.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, although not sure if there are many rooms that afford such luxury. If you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.