We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, view and rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, view and rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great place to stay as it is literally right on the water and very close to shops, cafes, and all tour operators. Beautiful view from the top rooms overlooking the blue sparkling harbour and I can imagine the bar at the top would have a great view too (I went to the bar at night so was challenged by the dark) Rooms were tidy, comfy and nice. No kitchenette in the studio room which was the downfall as you have to buy food all the time =( Countdown round the corner and beautiful beaches. Short drive to Waitangi and is just a lovely place to stroll around in Paihia. Locals are all very nice and friendly. Beautiful weather for the 2 days of 26degrees..making the hotel pool very tempting =) Indoor spa and games room included.

Room Tip: If you want the versatility of bringing your own food to coook and plan on staying more than 2 night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    95
    27
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
106
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although our room was a little tired, it was certainly comfortable and well serviced. We were particularly impressed by the fine cooked breakfast served in a restaurant with a stunning view. All staff were very friendly and helpful, but computer wifi availability could be improved. Laundry facilities were conveniently located. We enjoyed our early morning esplanade walks in the vicinity and found the hotel was ideally located for quick access to both the nearby wharf for boat trips and the main street shopping/dining strip. For what we paid we thought the hotel was fine!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the complex, away from the busy coast road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Although I was a little surprised with your comment 'our room was a little tired' as we have spent $3.5m over the last 5 years refurbishing all our rooms plus the majority of the public areas.

However I agree with your comment regarding the central location of the hotel.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I knew before we even arrived at the hotel that the Kingsgate Autolodge Hotel in Paihia had been there for a long time, granted most of that time wasn't as a Kingsgate so the expectation wasn't high.
The room we were given had been refurbished so the room in the main was clean and tidy, the dust on the shelves was a bit "deeper" than you would expect but overall it was "okay". The main bonus I see with the Kingsgate is the location close to the main wharf and a number of very good restaurants and cafes.
Would I stay at the Kingsgate again???? Probably, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Although the hotel has 'been there for a long time' we have done major refurbishment of all the rooms and the public areas over the last 5 years to modernise this hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights through a deal with Trade Me's Travel Bug website. Had a problem with booking through Trade Me, but Kingsgate and Travel Bug sorted it out quickly. Best place we've been to so far! Excellent facilities, quality and service - admin even called the tour company to make sure our trip was all sorted (night shift staff - cheers Mel!). Pool, spa, location and buffet meals are awesome! If you're thinking about this place, it's highly recommended! Thanks Kingsgate Paihia, we'll be back again soon!

Room Tip: The rooms directly upstairs from reception are the best. Closest to the bar, dining room, pool and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is one of three Millennium-owned hotels that my wife and I stayed at while traveling in New Zealand. It was by far the most impressive. The hotel is located near the waterfront and within walking distance of all most restaurants/souvenir shops. Check-in was easy and the front desk didn't even ask to authorize my credit card for incidental purchases (nice!) Our room was clean and modern, with electronic card keys and a flat screen tv! This was a major improvement over the other two Millennium-owned hotels, which seemed to be stuck in the 1970s. In addition, the housekeeping staff actually replaced our coffee and sugar when cleaning our room - amazing! Overall we really enjoyed this place and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass this onto our staff.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Took our granddaughter for a "quake break" from Christchurch to Northland in October. Booked six nights here and it was so good we deviated on our way back from Tutukaka and had a couple of extra nights there before flying home.
The rooms and hotel itself were clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and accomodating - the breakfast welcomes were as warm and lovely as the breakfasts themselves. Everything you wanted - swimming pool, spa, games room and access to a gym.
I would not go past this place when again in Paihia - handy to everything and just real value.

Room Tip: We didn't want sea views - we got up each morning and enjoyed them over breakfast and last thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I will pass these onto our staff.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We came here after a fab stay at Coopers Beach and we were using a Grabone voucher. When we arrived we asked for an upgrade to a front suite, it was easily done and the veiw from he balcony was great. Large suite with a well thought out bathroom, spa bath etc. A very well equipped kitchen, and a large bedroom with lots of storage.I feel it was worth more than 3 stars, although I did not see the other rooms. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.