We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, comfortable and a wonderful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre-New Year Special
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland
1 review
“Quiet, clean, comfortable and a wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

My family and I stayed at Cooks for 3 nights, the location is amazing, very quiet, on the top of the hill. Just 5 minutes from the Paihia and very close to Countdown supermarket.
The owners, Norm and Shelagh are very nice and helpful. Our trips to 90 miles beach and Discovery Bay of Island were perfect.
A great place to stay, I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    137
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
180
377
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Cook's Lookout lives up to its advertising. Spacious and clean accommodation, with stunning views over the Bay. Perfect location only a few minutes drive from the bustle of Paihia, with an excellent take-away just up the road if you don't want to eat out. Norm and Shelagh were very friendly and helpful with local information and organising trips. All in all, just a perfect location for a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The motel is in a quiet, peaceful location, not far from Haruru Falls and Mount Bledisloe viewpoint, and about 5 minutes drive up the hill out of Paihia town. Its elevated position gives the property absolutely stunning views towards Paihia and the Bay of Islands. The motel units are built up the hill, with a steep drive up to each block. We stayed in Unit 3, in the topmost block. Access to our parking space was a little awkward, requiring a bit of careful manoeuvring to get the car in and out! There is a food shop nearby.

Our unit had its own outside deck area with patio furniture, and a beautiful view over Paihia bay area. WIFI Broadband was available in the unit for a fee. The property has a solar-heated, salt-water swimming pool, although we did not use it.

Our unit was spacious, spotlessly clean, recently refurbished and tastefully decorated. It included a dining area with table and chairs, a small kitchenette with microwave, fridge and two-ring hob, and an ensuite shower room. There was also a flat-screen TV high up on the wall above the bed. The floor-to-ceiling windows/doors on two sides of the unit made the wonderful ocean view visible from the bed. Our only (minor) niggle was that control of the shower water temperature was a bit erratic.

The motel owners, Norm and Shelagh (originally from Merseyside in the UK) were extremely friendly and welcoming, showing us personally to our unit and explaining all the motel's facilities, as well as the sites and amenities in the local area. They helped us choose our Bay of Islands cruise and booked it for us, including motel pick-up/drop-off. Our unit was serviced promptly and efficiently on each day of our stay.

Overall, we thought Cooks Lookout was a comfortable motel, giving reasonable value for money. We felt that there was a price differential of NZ$30-40 above other comparable properties we stayed in, but the quiet, elevated location and stunning views justify the premium.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The owners are very friendly witha sound knowledge of the area. Our trips that we ventured on were recomended by Norm and Shelagh and they were very good. A very enjoyable trip to the BOI.A great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The selling point of this motel is undoubtedly its position, with stunning views from the rooms. It was an absolute pleasure to sit outside on the decking and watch the sun rise in the morning and set in the evening.
The owners, Norm and Shelagh, couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Gave lots of useful advice on the area and booked trips.
The pool was fabulous - salt water and as warm as a bath. A fantastic place to relax at the end of the day. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious, and the all round patio doors meant that you could experience the view from your bed.
The only slight downside is that you are not within walking distance of restaurants, but this is a small price to pay for the quiet location and view and we felt that it was much nicer to take in the surroundings over a glass of wine and a meal we had prepared ourselves. We came to this area for rest and relaxation and we certainly got it at Cook's Lookout.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Cook's Lookout, 5 minutes drive from bustling Paihia, but a welcome contrast, superb views, peaceful location, quality accommodation, a wonderful warm pool and fun hosts, full of useful information - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The elevated location provides a view of the the wonderful Bay of Islands which makes one glad to be alive. The accommodation is excellent, the hosts are a delight and the pool is as deliciously warm as a bathtub. We hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.