We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all round, one of the best places we've stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best room rates guarantee
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge
1 review
“all round, one of the best places we've stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Norm and Shelagh were very welcoming, and knowledgeable about all the local attractions. We asked their advice about what to do and were not disappointed by their suggestions. Our self-catering unit was very comfortable and had stunning views over the bay. We loved the little patio where we could sit and watch the sunset over the sea with a glass of wine. Peaceful, comfortable and very good value. We stayed two nights more than we originally intended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    148
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
191
412
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

We have been many places in the world and people have said they have a great view but when we got there it disappointed! Cannot say that about Cooks Lookout. We had a view of the ever changing bay with some stunning sunrises and sunsets. Our hosts Norm & Shelagh gave lots of helpful advise on where to go, what to see and to do. Finally the accommodation was comfortable, clean and up to a high standard. We would without hesitation go back again.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

Cook's Lookout is indeed a 'lookout'. Situated high in the hills, it overlooks the ocean by the resort town of Paihia. As advertised, you can indeed see the ocean from your pillow . The setting is quiet and peaceful, and the view is breath takingly beautiful. Our room was a good size with a lovely patio where we sat with our morning coffee to enjoy the early sun. It had a well stocked kitchen and one night we barbecued steak (barbecue is by the solar warmed pool). Parking is right at your door making it easy to carry in your luggage and groceries. A large grocery store is just 3 minutes away. Beach, restaurants, nightlife are just 5 minutes away. A washer and dryer were available for guests with a low $2.00 charge. Our hosts Norm and Shelagh were very knowledgeable about the area and were helpful in planning our return trip to Auckland to take in the best sights en route.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City, Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Stayed last weekend for two nights, excellent service upon arrival. we were shown to our room and received information about the facilities available on site as well as detailed information and directions for activities available in the area (including Cape Reinga). The room was nice and clean with a spectacular view from the bed and patio out to the magnificent bay below and hills to the east (which created a spectacular sunrise providing many many photos!). The entire experience at the Cooks Lookout allowed both my partner and I to share a memorable weekend that has brought us closer together and enhanced our relationship. Overall, and we said it to the hosts, we were thoroughly impressed in all aspects (not a single thing was disappointing) and will be repeat customer's during our frequent returns to the bay! Well done Cook's Lookout!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We began our New Zealand trip here and could not have asked for a better start. The view of the upper bay and mangrove forest was stunning. We had two bedrooms and a full kitchen equipped with everything imaginable. Norm and Shelagh were most helpful and friendly. It's less than 5 minutes from town by car in a lovely, tranquil setting rather than on "motel row" on the main road. If you like birds, you'll get a great introduction to New Zealand species from your porch. If we travel to New Zealand again, we'll return to Cook's Lookout.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed at Cook's lookout for 3 nights and overall we had a very pleasant stay.

The views are excellent, our room was on the second floor above the pool which gave us a stunning clear view across the bay.

Paihia town central is only 5 minutes away by car, but being a bit out of town was great, very quiet.

There is a general store and fish and chips/sandwich shop a short walk from the Motel, and a supermarket a short drive further. Since the unit we stayed in had a kitchen we prepared some meals ourselves.

The pool was great, and Norm and Sheilagh were very helpful with info on local attractions.

The rooms were very clean and well presented.
The only thing lacking is the TV was a bit small and the beds were a little too soft for our liking (only ourpersonal preference tho), but we spent most of our time out and about so this was no problem.

A great stay, would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

our family stayed at cooks 3 days end of october great place to unwind very relaxing nice pool area fantastic views and most of all no road traffic so we could sleep all night and very comfortable beds best yet would definately recommend

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.