We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel of our honeymooon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre-New Year Special
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best motel of our honeymooon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Cook's Lookout Motel as part of our honeymoon that we spent travelling around New Zealand for three weeks and staying in various hotels and motels. Out of all the places we stayed this was the best because of the warm welcome that Norm and Shelagh extended towards us. The advice from Norm on what places to see, what activities to do and which places to eat were spot on and made our short stay here so relaxing and memorable.
The motel itself is spotlessly clean, comfortable, spacious and had everything we needed.
The view from the balcony of our room looked out over the bay, Norm even called us in the evening to make sure that we were looking at the beautiful sunset over the water.
We plan on returning to New Zealand in a few years and we will definitely be staying at the Cook's Lookout Motel while we stay in Bay of Islands.
In summary; a lovely motel, stunning views and wonderful hosts, thank you so much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    137
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
180
378
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were looking for a room with a view within easy driving distance of Paihia. Norman and Shelagh were both there to meet / greet and check us in. What a lovely character Norman is with a fascinating background as a musical entertainer originally from the city that produced the Beatles.
We were offered a choice of apartments and on different levels and opted for one where we could enjoy the sunrise over the Bay of Islands with our heads still on our pillows.
Very kindly Norm dropped us into Paihia so that we could drink and dine before a taxi back.
All in all a wonderful experience with great tips on what to see and explore in the area. The boat trip and exploration of the Bay of Islands are a must. A visit to romantic Russell is rewarding. His restaurant recommendations were all A1.
Highly recommend.
Berenice Webb and James Taylor

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by our lovely hosts Norm & Shelagh. They made us feel home away from home in our cosy unit. From our room we had the most spectacular view back across the Haruru Falls River and Waitangi Waterfront. In addition we had an amazing spell of weather to liven up our stay. We had a late afternoon swim in the heated pool which was lovely. Afterwards we chose from the array of free-to-borrow DVD's at the front desk ( 'The Holiday' & 'Oceans 11').
Both of our hosts were lovingly accommodating, with great knowledge of their local surroundings, the ins and outs of where to eat and how to make the most of your stay!

Overall 'The Cook's Lookout' is one of the best value, and genuinely friendly places we have ever stayed. It's suitable for everyone who enjoys a good laugh, a bit of local info and splendid views.

P.s We also were able to experience the spectacular, Only Loo with an Ocean View in the Bay of Islands ;P

Room Tip: Ask for the Loo with a View!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this accommodation at short notice to make the most of a long weekend (Public Holiday).
Upon arrival we were greeted with smiles at reception and a truly friendly feeling is what we gained throughout our short stay.
The views are amazing, the pool is beautiful and the rooms are fantastic for (as in our case) individuals with youngsters. In the event that you are needing to keep them entertained, there is a whole library of DVD's available for all ages and these are free usage.

It goes without a shadow of doubt that we will again stay here and have already passed on this information to close friends who frequent the area.

Thank you yet again Norm and Shelagh :)

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a great stay here. The views from the room were simply breathtaking and our two kids loved playing in the warm pool which has similar spectacular views. Norm and Shelagh could not have done more to make us feel welcome and were a mine of great information and top tips about the local area and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere with great views over the islands, in quieter surrounds than central Paihia, and with friendly and helpful hosts then this is a good choice.
Norm did an excellent job of helping us to make the most of our time locally with advice and maps.
You can tell Norm and Shelagh do their absolute best to help you enjoy yourself and make the most of your stay.
Couple of points I think it fair to mention - the price of your stay is great value given the views you get, but bear in mind that for this money, you aren't going to be staying at the Hilton. Whilst very clean, some of the decor is a little dated and the furnishing a little worn so don't expect everything to be pristine and brand new. Secondly, you need to be high up and out of town for the views, so you can't walk to the main drag in Paihia. We had our own car. For sightseeing tours, Norm will gladly arrange these and organise you to be picked up and dropped off back at the accommodation.
I truly believe Norm and Shelagh to a great job and I hope they get the continued success they deserve such that they can afford to keep investing in updating the accommodation and maintaining Cooks Lookout as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed with Norm and Shelagh as part of our honeymoon around the North Island of New Zealand from 1st to 5th October 2013. Cook's Lookout was a fantastic location and the view from the room was breathtaking.

The rooms are very clean and have everything you need and more, Norm and Shelagh ensure that all your needs are catered for, nothing is too much trouble and they are extremely helpful with all the touristy stuff you may want to do during your stay. This motel is suitable to both families and couples alike.

Again, a word of note, the Motel is located a few minutes from Paihia and up a hill so a car is essential also, it is conveniently located to a 'Countdown' supermarket.

Overall, a peaceful place to stay and would thoroughly recommend. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 10 was good, however, you will get noise from people/kids swimming in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.