We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Paihia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Paihia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2013, before cruising the Bay of Islands for a week. Our room was excellent, very comfortably furnished with plenty of space, great shower and a very handy fully equipped kitchenette. The view through big windows and glass sliding doors, across the estuary and beyond to the Bay, was glorious and changed constantly as the light changed. The view was so good, that on 3 nights we got takeaway fish and chips for dinner and enjoyed these on our private balcony watching the sunset. Norm and Shelagh couldn't have been more helpful and generous hosts. Moreover, not only did they look after our rental car while we went cruising and very kindly took us to the boat for departure, but they picked us up when we returned! I had not been to Northland before and enjoyed the whole trip very much. I was very impressed by how friendly and helpful all the locals were. Cook's Lookout was certainly a highlight and when we return to Paihia we will definitely be staying there again, and hopefully next time for longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    134
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
176
368
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

When we arrived at Cook's Lookout we had a room overlooking the pool. My husband was so disappointed as this was for a special occasion. The hosts were away but luckily we are able to move rooms. Views amazing. Only drawback don't look over the verandah as there was loads of old dog poo .Rooms were great could have done with a bit of fresh milk. If you stay here check view from room don't rely on photos! Altogether had Fabulous time here. Oh yes you also need a car to get around. Bethan Llewelyn

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting a view of bay only not pool. Don't rely on photos which are very decei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookslookout, Owner at Cook's Lookout Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
The guests booked an ”Ocean View One Bedroom Apartment” via our Website and we would assume that they had checked the information about the room before they chose to book it for their “special occasion”.

Our Website very clearly shows that both of our One Bedroom Ocean View Apartments look over the Pool to the Ocean. I took ALL of our Website photographs myself with a simple little Canon pocket camera. The pictures are not “doctored” or “photo-shopped” in any way and are a simple, true and accurate representation of our rooms. Although we are in the hospitality industry and try our best to be nice to everybody I think we should be allowed to be offended by totally unjust accusations of deceit or giving misleading information.

The guests were given a free upgrade to our best Two Bedroom Apartment. (This is not a practice that is likely to be repeated).

The “dog poo” reference baffles me completely as there are no dogs on our property and we were shown no evidence of it. We are on the edge of beautiful native bush and we have seen a few odd possums strolling past over the years!?

As with many Motels in Paihia we give our guests unlimited supplies of UHT milk for their tea and coffee as it is not practical for us to store and provide fresh cartons of the many varieties and personal preferences of milks available in these choice-rich times.

P.S. Did I mention that our photographs are ALL real and honest?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Norm and Shielagh are the perfect hosts and what a location.
Views from the room and fully equipped kitchen all away from the madding crowd.
Need a car to get to the attractions so free parking and Internet at 100 MB per day is ample.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It was with great relief to us that Cook's Lookout lived up to our expectations, given it does rate so highly on tripadvisor. We were a bit nervous booking accomodation sight unseen, though my wife scrutinised the reviews pretty closely and felt we could not ignore the overwhelmingly positive feedback.
We stayed in room 8 alongside friends in room 9 for three nights. This was a good position as it meant we had our privacy but we could also mix with ease. Near the pool was handy though kids spent most of their time on the trampoline which we could supervise from our balcony. Though only a few minutes from town the aspect gives you a sense of remoteness. Meant we could easil access restaurants, supermarkets and tours and yet a quickly retreat to this unique view.
Rooms were well maintained and certainly well equipped....overall a very good value stay that exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Cook's Lookout motel is located well outside Paihia, on a hill with a magnificent view over the estuary to the distant sea. We witnessed spectacular sunrises and on a previous visit enjoyed a fantastic starry sky on a clear night. The rooms are simply but comfortably furnished, clean, and quiet, and spotlessly clean, with a large comfortable bed and a more than adequate cooking niche. The owners, Norm and Shelagh, were very friendly and helpful, and gave us plenty of advice about what to see and do. The motel is about 5 minutes drive from the town centre, with its shops and restaurants. There is ample parking on the property and a generous allowance of free WiFi. This was our second stay at Cook's Lookout and we will certainly try to stay here on a future visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great place with very helpful and friendly hosts! Nice room with fantastic view. Nice pool, great for a relaxing swim just before dinner (good cooking facilities). Thanks Norm & Shelagh for great and relaxing days!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here in March and had a lovely time, Norm and Shelagh were so helpful, with places to visit, restaurants, dolphin trips and car hire. The view from our room was fabulous and the pool was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.