We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Year Availability
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Gosford, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our unit had the most amazing view which we could also sit outside and enjoy. The unit was clean and comfortable. It was a great price and the owners were friendly helpful! I had hurt my foot that day and the owners considerately brought things up to the unit to save me walking down.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 1 - it was at the top of the staggered units and we had great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    137
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
181
379
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Norm and Shelagh had emailed us a number times before we arrived to ensure that we had all the info we needed for our 2 day stay and it was a pleasure to meet them, Our room was large, light and well equipped, with a stunning view from the big patio windows right by our bed. You look down on the Waitangi Treaty grounds (which you must visit) and across the bay to Russell. Rainbow Falls is just 2 minutes away. To get this view you have to drive just over 5 minutes North from Pahia, which was not a problem for us as we had a hire car. I wished we had spent more time there.

Room Tip: They all seem to have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. Although the accommodation is basic, the view is amazing and the pool and rooms are very clean, tidy and in great condition. It's located 5 mins drive out of town , but that adds to the appeal and feeling of serenity Norm and Shelagh were always very friendly and helpful. Norm even drove us into town when our expected transport didn't arrive. At times we even found ourselves standing in their office talking to them for half a hour. We will definitely go back to Cook's Lookout if we ever make it back to BOI.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Since the time we entered the motel, there was a warm vibe attached with this place and we knew that we had made a good decision of choosing Cook's Lookout over some of the cheaper options in the town centre. Norm and Shelagh were very welcoming and gave us a room with the best possible view. The motel is located 7 minute drive from the town centre and if you are looking for a quiet ambience in Paihia, look no further. The rooms are placed in a manner that provides a lot of privacy and are quite big and clean. The swimming pool is heated to a warm 38 degrees and the motel provides a complementary wi-fi internet service. During our stay, the hosts was going for a dinner together, and they dropped a note with their numbers in case of any need. I thought it was very thoughtful of them and was quite touched. They were also quite eager to provide any information about Paihia in general and helped us even with our next destination. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable.

Room Tip: Room Unit number 3 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Probably an unrivalled view of Waitangi...absolutely amazing. The trade off is you will need a car to drive the 5 minute journey to/from Waitangi and Paihia but there's bags of parking space in both areas.
Very friendly and at times amusing (in a nice way) hosts who were in touch with us by email to confirm things as soon as we booked.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view rather than poolside, as the view is Cook's Lookout's USP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay. My unit was completely remodeled inside. It was incredibly quiet and the view is as advertised....stunning. It is a short drive drive from town. The motel is located in a residential area. Spend at least 3 nights here. The host and hostess were very nice and very responsive. And you get free Wifi. What could be better?

Room Tip: Try the unit just to the right of the pool as you look to the sea. Sorry, I can't recall the nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were delighted with our choice of accommodation which was even better than what the website promised.
Slightly out of town, but only by minutes, and out of the bustle and trafffic noise.
The unit was beautifully clean and very comfortable and all that we needed was there,the guest laundry being a bonus.
Norm and Shelagh are a delightful couple and were very helpful to us in local knowledge and helping us to make the most of our short time in the "Bay". They are great, with nothing being too much trouble.
The view was as promised, and very beautiful, From our bed we could see right down to the water in the distance, and Cook would have seen any shipping from this high vantage point.
We would highly recommend this Motel and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.