We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Save Saved
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What A View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay. My unit was completely remodeled inside. It was incredibly quiet and the view is as advertised....stunning. It is a short drive drive from town. The motel is located in a residential area. Spend at least 3 nights here. The host and hostess were very nice and very responsive. And you get free Wifi. What could be better?

Room Tip: Try the unit just to the right of the pool as you look to the sea. Sorry, I can't recall the nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    132
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
174
366
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were delighted with our choice of accommodation which was even better than what the website promised.
Slightly out of town, but only by minutes, and out of the bustle and trafffic noise.
The unit was beautifully clean and very comfortable and all that we needed was there,the guest laundry being a bonus.
Norm and Shelagh are a delightful couple and were very helpful to us in local knowledge and helping us to make the most of our short time in the "Bay". They are great, with nothing being too much trouble.
The view was as promised, and very beautiful, From our bed we could see right down to the water in the distance, and Cook would have seen any shipping from this high vantage point.
We would highly recommend this Motel and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this motel on the strength of the motel's own website which extolled the virtues of the view plus the fact we wanted a swimming pool to keep the kids happy. However, the website doesn't do justice to Cook's Lookout because in every respect, the place exceeded our expectations. The rooms (we had a 2 bed unit) were spacious and spotless. We had a lovely deck overlooking the harbour (with access from the main bedroom as well as the lounge) and the views were indeed breath-taking. The hosts, Norm and Shelagh, were very welcoming. Norm is a mine of useful information and pointed us in the right direction which is particularly important when you only have a few days at a particular location. Overall, this is an easy 5 out of 5 to give because in every respect, it exceeded our expectations and made for a wonderful start to our holiday in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had the most enjoyable start to our NZ holiday staying with Norm and Shelagh at Cooks Lookout Motel. Norm being a wealth of information on what would be great for us to experience making sure not to miss some of those places that could easily be missed and where to have that perfect coffee. With everything you need on hand it was like bringing the comfort of home with you. We chose to eat in due to the fantastic view of the Bay from our bedroom opening up to the deck. The peaceful location is a real plus especially for the light sleeper.
A good meal, glass of wine and the beauty of God's creation you could ask for nothing more. Thank you Norm and Shelagh.
Steve and Cheryl NSW Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hosts were charming and most helpful to get us set up and to the many historic and natural sight-seeing places and cafe, dinner and pub options. While you can drive up to your efficiency the motel overlooks the bay of island including historic sights and is entirely protected from the main road. The units were tastefully furnished and very clean and the views from bedroom are stunning. Hiking trails, beaches, canoeing and sailing are all nearby. Perfect place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Norm and Shelagh were very helpful to us in optimizing a fantastic last two days of our holiday . They were so personable and the view from our room was wonderful. It is less than 10 minutes drive into Paihia but even when we left the car at the motel for the day and needed a lift back, Norm was there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

For our last two days in NZ, we were looking for something special. Via local recommendations, we found Cook's Lookout in Huraru Falls and asked for a room. We were lucky and room number three (which you can also see on most of the pictures uploaded here) was free, the view just stunning! We spent there our last two days and enjoyed the beautiful view so much that we did not even go our for dinner even more but stayed at our room and had dinner there! In the morning the sun wakes you up with a beautiful sunrise - this is life!

Norm and his wife have been very helpful and friendly, we felt welcome and could also get a closer insight into the life of the locals.

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;