We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing place with stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre-New Year Special
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Eilat
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxing place with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hosts were charming and most helpful to get us set up and to the many historic and natural sight-seeing places and cafe, dinner and pub options. While you can drive up to your efficiency the motel overlooks the bay of island including historic sights and is entirely protected from the main road. The units were tastefully furnished and very clean and the views from bedroom are stunning. Hiking trails, beaches, canoeing and sailing are all nearby. Perfect place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    137
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
181
379
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Formby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Norm and Shelagh were very helpful to us in optimizing a fantastic last two days of our holiday . They were so personable and the view from our room was wonderful. It is less than 10 minutes drive into Paihia but even when we left the car at the motel for the day and needed a lift back, Norm was there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

For our last two days in NZ, we were looking for something special. Via local recommendations, we found Cook's Lookout in Huraru Falls and asked for a room. We were lucky and room number three (which you can also see on most of the pictures uploaded here) was free, the view just stunning! We spent there our last two days and enjoyed the beautiful view so much that we did not even go our for dinner even more but stayed at our room and had dinner there! In the morning the sun wakes you up with a beautiful sunrise - this is life!

Norm and his wife have been very helpful and friendly, we felt welcome and could also get a closer insight into the life of the locals.

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent two days at Cooks Lookout. Norm could not have been more welcoming nor more helpful with his suggestions as to how we might best spend our time in the Bay of Islands. His suggestions for dinner were equally excellent although we only ate out once as the view from our decking was simply stunning and deserved to be savoured over a few glasses of wine and a home made supper as the sun set! The room was large, well furnished and spotlessly clean and breakfasts from the decking furniture, immediately outside our bedroom's sliding panoramic doors, were the perfect way to start the day. Our stay was just perfect and well worthy of a 5 Star rating - in fact, if I could award more stars, I would! Ian & Pam Spalding UK

Room Tip: We went for a Studio Unit with Ocean View but all the views looked pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife initially for 2 nights and then extended for another 2 nights. We extended because of the extremely peronal warm management style. The rooms all have great views of Bay of Islands, are clean and the beds were good. My wife used the pool every day as it was always as she says "just right". If you are looking for a really good experience I would totally recoemd here.
Ken Wood

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babinda, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for 3 nights which just wasn't long enough. The views from our unit of the Bay were amazing either while having breakfast with the sunrise or a wine while watching the sunset were truly unmatched. This is as close to paradise as you can get. The room was very clean with all the facilities you could need. The beds were comfortable and unit spacious. The complex was quiet yet only a short drive to Pahia and a Supermarket close by. Norm & Shelagh were the perfect hosts with their expert local knowledge and a willingness and friendliness unmatched in my experience staying at other accommodation. They arranged our tours which we thoroughly enjoyed and couldn't have asked for better. Would definately recommend Cooks Lookout to anyone wanting to take a trip to the Bay of Islands and wanting to stay at the best accommodation in every way. Thank you Norm & Shelagh for making our stay truly memorable. We will be back!
Ryan & Troy
Australia

Room Tip: Units 4 or 5 had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

If we could give this motel 7 Stars we would, and this would not just be for the most fantastic views, in particular the sunrises from our deck. From the warm welcome from Norm and Shelagh, who were happy to advise us on what to see locally, and arranged a cruise, to the Studio with all the facilities and views to die for over the bay, our 3 day stay was excellent. We stayed in 12 motels/hotels over 4 weeks in North and South Islands; on the basis of value for money, spacious, clean and quality facilities and equipment, mine hosts, and of course the views, Cook's Lookout topped the lot. A great way to finish our holiday in N Z.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.