We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best view in Paihia area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre-New Year Special
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Christchurch, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Still the best view in Paihia area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Just about to leave after 4 peaceful, relaxing days in northland. Many thanks to Norm and Shelagh for the friendly advice for places to visit and help with making bookings (Norm plays a mean guitar too).

This is our second visit to Cooks Lookout, good clean & well equipped rooms with that fantastic view over the bay.

Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    137
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
181
379
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great location, a couple of minutes out of Paihia, has two distinct advantages over its competitors - none of the noise and all of the views... spectacular views. Norm and Shelagh are lovely hosts, welcoming, kind and helpful, without being intrusive - they gave good advice on restaurants and sightseeing options, plus several nifty maps to help us find our way about (there is a supermarket close-by). The accommodation is very clean and well appointed, with a proper little kitchen and comfortable beds. We stayed in a Poolside Unit, which had a double bedroom and an unobtrusive single bed at the edge of the living area (should it be required) - this was an ideal and economical option for my mature parents and I - far less expensive than two rooms in an average motel would have been. In conclusion, great value, service and accommodation - richly deserving of its excellent TripAdvisor reviews - highly recommended. Thank you Norm and Shelagh, we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic location, especially Units 1,2 and 3. Very peaceful and relaxing. Stunning views over The Bay of Islands. W onderful, friendly, helpful Hosts, who will advise on, and book, all trips and activities, if requested. Paihia is a five minute drive away for all amenities. Stay for as long as possible, it is a MUST. Prue and Jay Burke. UK

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just had 3 nights at this lovely Motel, in a really quiet location. What a super position with views to die for, not only from our room but from our bed! The facilities far exceeded our expectations including a lovely heated outdoor pool. We were warmly welcomed by Norm and Shelagh, the proprietors who gave us some recommendations of what to do during our stay in Pahia. Every single one of them turned out to be great days out and restaurants. We would certainly recommend anyone to stay there and can only hope that we manage to travel this far again.

Room Tip: We had room 10 with views over the bay and the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our 5 night stay at Cook's Lookout Motel. Norm and Shelagh were very accomodating and helpful with great restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. We had our own car and getting to town for grocery shopping, etc. was convenient and just a few minutes away. The 90 Mile Beach/Cape Reinga and Bay of Islands tours picked us up and dropped us off right outside our suite...very convenient. Overall a great place to spend a few days in the Bay of Islands area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at Cooks Lookout for 2 nights in February 2013. The unit was fabulous - very clean and comfortable with a spectacular view over Paihia and Waitangi. The motel is only a very short distance from Paihia, which is great. There is a nice fish n chip shop and convenience store within walking distance. Norm and Shelaigh are very friendly and Norm was an exceptional host - nothing was too much trouble and he even drove us to and picked us up from the Waitangi Treaty Grounds on Waitangi Day. If we ever go back up to the Bay of Islands we will definitely go back to this motel, and thoroughly recommend it to others planning on a trip to the north of the North Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at Cooks Lookout for four nights in early January. We had a two bedroom chalet which was spacious, comfortable and clean. There was lots to do in the area to keep us busy: hiking (tramping), beach, tour of the northlands area, and our highlight - a days sailing on the Bay of Islands. Norm and shellagh pointed us to some good restaurants nearby. However a good book and a glass of wine on the chalet deck in the evening while watching the stunning view of the Bay below really made us feel that our holidays had begun!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.