We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation and lovely owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best room rates guarantee
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation and lovely owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just had 3 nights at this lovely Motel, in a really quiet location. What a super position with views to die for, not only from our room but from our bed! The facilities far exceeded our expectations including a lovely heated outdoor pool. We were warmly welcomed by Norm and Shelagh, the proprietors who gave us some recommendations of what to do during our stay in Pahia. Every single one of them turned out to be great days out and restaurants. We would certainly recommend anyone to stay there and can only hope that we manage to travel this far again.

Room Tip: We had room 10 with views over the bay and the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    145
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
189
401
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our 5 night stay at Cook's Lookout Motel. Norm and Shelagh were very accomodating and helpful with great restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. We had our own car and getting to town for grocery shopping, etc. was convenient and just a few minutes away. The 90 Mile Beach/Cape Reinga and Bay of Islands tours picked us up and dropped us off right outside our suite...very convenient. Overall a great place to spend a few days in the Bay of Islands area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at Cooks Lookout for 2 nights in February 2013. The unit was fabulous - very clean and comfortable with a spectacular view over Paihia and Waitangi. The motel is only a very short distance from Paihia, which is great. There is a nice fish n chip shop and convenience store within walking distance. Norm and Shelaigh are very friendly and Norm was an exceptional host - nothing was too much trouble and he even drove us to and picked us up from the Waitangi Treaty Grounds on Waitangi Day. If we ever go back up to the Bay of Islands we will definitely go back to this motel, and thoroughly recommend it to others planning on a trip to the north of the North Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Cooks Lookout for four nights in early January. We had a two bedroom chalet which was spacious, comfortable and clean. There was lots to do in the area to keep us busy: hiking (tramping), beach, tour of the northlands area, and our highlight - a days sailing on the Bay of Islands. Norm and shellagh pointed us to some good restaurants nearby. However a good book and a glass of wine on the chalet deck in the evening while watching the stunning view of the Bay below really made us feel that our holidays had begun!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed two nights in a two bedded apartment. Apartment clean but basic - definitely could do with a makeover! Lovely views of bay and a nice decking area outside. Swimming pool excellent, again overlooking the bay. The main problem we felt was that it is a 5 min drive on a very windy road into
town so someone has to drive home after a night out as too far to walk. Owners helpful and approachable with tips and places to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooom with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our first visit out of Auckland was to the Cook's lookout Motel. The best thing about the hotel is the amazing view, the deck and the location. It is truly a look out. Enjoyed the stay and the company.

Room Tip: If traveling with 4 women perhaps two rooms and not the suite would have worked better. One bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked unit #9, a spacious 2-br ground-floor unit with a beautiful view out to the Wairangi Reserve and Russell beyond. The unit was very well equipped with all the necessities for cooking, good towels, comfortable beds, etc. The laundry was convenient and at $2 per load, reasonably priced. The Internet was also good and the amount provided free was generous. Norm and Shelagh are gracious, friendly hosts. We really enjoyed our 3-night stay, and particularly enjoyed the day- long Dune Rider trip to Cpe Reinga they arranged for us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.