We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VIEWS AND A GREAT FAMILY STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Save Saved
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 hotels in Paihia
auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT VIEWS AND A GREAT FAMILY STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights in unit 9 overlooking the salt water heated pool and magnificent views of the Bay of Islands. Very peaceful location and we took our grandson for the New year. Managed to see the fireworks from our unit on New Years Eve which was spectacular whilst sipping a glass of champagne. Norm and Sheila were the perfect hosts and the first time we stayed was with my parents who were over from England.
You would need a car to get you into Paihia but there is a great bush walk from Haruru Falls to Waitangi if you are feeling adventurous.
Overall a great place to stay and would thoroughly recommend.
Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: 7,8,9 and 10 are all good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    133
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
173
366
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in Unit 8 at this Motel - the pick I would say for families as we had outstanding views over Paihia, easy access to the pool (nicely heated for those fickle NZ days) , a trampoline and most importantly the BBQ! The Units are tidy and modest with everything you need so 'eating in' is usually the way to go on your deck, weather permitting. My partner and I also commented on the comfort of the bed we had four of our best sleeps here!!

The kids loved Norm and Shelagh's collection of dvds and games they could access for free and our hosts provided great advice on wet weather activities to keep the children entertained.

A word of note, it is located a few minutes from Paihia, up a hill so a car is essential and is conveniently located to a 'Countdown' supermarket. All in all our family had a great stay at this beautifully positioned Motel

Room Tip: As I said ask for Unit 8 if you are a family and it is available - we were a family of four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent a few days over Christmas in this motel. Wonderful views from our bed. Motels well fitted with all you could need, and Norm and his wife most helpful and charming hosts. Plenty of things to do in the surrounding area - and our grandchildren loved the good-sized swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you're looking for state of the art luxury with a health spa, etc, this is not it. But, if you're looking for somewhere clean, comfortable and spacious where you can wake to the sound of birds and step out onto your own private deck with the most wonderful views ever, this is definitely it.

The motel is a few minutes' drive from Paihia but totally worth it to be in such a quiet and restful place. Norm and Sheelagh are very helpful and will provide you with any information you need to make your stay in the Bay of Islands complete.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I must saythat this is one of the best place that we have stayed.
Norm made us feel at home with his warm, sincere and helpful answers to our queries on how to make best use of our time to explore the area. The view from our room is unbelievably panaromic and breadthtaking. It is an oasis of calm and tranquility. We witnessed beautiful sunrise and majestic sunsets sparkling night skies. His recommendation of the places to visit are spot on and we enjoyed every single moment that we were there.
Wished we could spend more time at this gem of a place.
In summary, wonderful host, super duper location....simply perfect.
Worth a return vist!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were delighted to find that the reviews on Tripadvisor were all 100% correct - Cook's Lookout is an amazing place to stay. It was hard to tear ourselves away from the incredible view, and sitting on the deck having a beer in the summer evening sunshine must rate as one of life's perfect moments. The motel room we had was spacious, super clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen area was well equipped. The room has a DVD player as well as a flat screen TV, and there is a guest laundry and washing line, which was very useful. The swimming pool is a real bonus - heated to perfection.

The location of the motel is great - a few minutes' drive to Paihia with shops, restaurants and other facilities. The only slight bugbear is that you have to either have to pay to park or be prepared to park and walk a little distance to the centre of the town. The upside of course is that Cook's Lookout is quiet and peaceful, as well as having the amazing view.

Norm and Shelagh are great hosts, and have a sense of humour too. Wish we could have stayed longer than the three nights we had there.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great welcome by hosts Norm and Shelagh who provided some great local knowledge and shared some great stories. We had our own deck with a great view and saw our first Tui in the garden. Had a great meal on the first night at a place recommended by the owners and stapled the local fish species.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.