We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 5 night stay with wife and 11mth old son” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Save Saved
You added Cook's Lookout Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cook's Lookout Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Paihia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 5 night stay with wife and 11mth old son”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

(Firstly, apologies to Norm and Shelagh for taking so long to write this; approximately a year on from our stay!).

We (my wife, 11 month old son and I) had a lovely break at Cook's Lookout Motel during our three week holiday in New Zealand during November time.

Our trip to New Zealand was built around a family wedding in Wellington and so tried to cram in as much travelling around the North Island as we could around the 'main event'. As such we wanted to be able to have a 'mini holiday' within our trip to be able to relax away from the rest of the family who were with us. Having done some research back in England before we left we decided on staying in the bay of islands, and after some researching found Cook's Lookout Motel which looked to be just what we were after with good reviews to boot.

The views you see on their website are spot on, and really added to the feeling of tranquility whilst we were staying there. The location is great to be able to get around without the stress of being down on the coast (which was great for us as a young family as we wanted to be a bit away from the hustle and bustle). Norm and Shelagh were lovely hosts and very accommodating to our needs (including the provision of a baby bath on request).

If you're looking for somewhere affordable to stay in the area which is away from the busy beach areas but within easy reach of the islands etc then you can't go wrong with Cook's Lookout Motel.

Would definitely recommend and stay again in the future if we are up in the bay of islands again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    132
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
169
360
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great room with excellent view and friendly hospitality. John had a successful fishing trip catching 4 good size snapper which we shared with our hosts. Norm and Shelagh were very helpful and arranged all our trips and fishing charter even taking John down at 6.30 am fro his fishing day. Highly recommend this motel and would go there again tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were made so welcome by our hosts and they made sure we saw the most important sights, drawing us maps and generally providing helpful tips on half and full day's out.. We saw far more of Northland because of their help and advice. The accommodation was a delight with views to die for and so comfortable too. We stayed an extra night as we couldn't bear to leave!!

Room Tip: All rooms/studio apartments have excellent views. We were lucky to have the view on the website in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The pictures and other reviewers don't lie. The Cook's Lookout motel was our base in the Bay of Islands for 5 nights & we could not have wished for more. Norm was a wonderful host, offering suggestions of places to visit, tours to do, personalised maps, restaurants to eat at and also on how best to take advantage of the wonderful location that Cook's Lookout has overlooking the Bay of Islands. The sunrises were spectacular and the starry nights will be long remembered for their brillance.
The room (#5) we had was very clean and although not spacious, contained everything we needed for our stay and we were very comfortable. We also appreciated the access to the free wi-fi.
If you are looking for a place with wonderful personal service, unsurpassed views, clean and comfortable accommodation then don't look any further - Cook's Lookout has all of this plus more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were impressed with the personalised services of Norm and Shelagh. They sent us an email to ask if they could help in any way to make our stay more comfortable.

Their recommendations on restaurants and places to go were also very good. Overall, this made our stay very pleasant and smooth ! Thanks for everything .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well, I am travelling a lot across the globe, especially for business. But what I experienced at Cooks lookout during my last trip was - in simple words - fantastic. Before listing the big pros of this location let us first avoid some misunderstandings. If you are looking for a ultra modern furnished room with the typical reduced design language of todays hotels incl. loads of pseudo exclusive inhouse amenities, stop reading now.
If you are ready for holidays in its original sense, you should get in touch with Norm or Shela checking for a free apartment. At this point of time you will notice already the biggest difference of Cooks lookout compared with other accomodations - personality, individuality and service. We had a very warm welcome at our arrival and even for the remaining hours on that rainy day Norm came up with some really good ideas making time just flying. Our apartment was superclean and well furnished with modern equipment, but with a style make you feeling very comfortable. For breakfast just sit down outside on your terrace and relish the stunning view over Paihia Bay and Russell. At night you can easily spend 2 hours to do some pictures of the stars, since there is no housing around you poisioning your view. And after all that just lay down and sleep in confidence that you will definetely not disturbed by other drunken tourists passing your room window durig the night. You get all those pros at the price of 4 minutes car drive from Paihia up the hill. The personal service, quietness and view should be worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hosts Norm & Shelagh are lovely people and really helpfull to make the best out of your stay. Norm told us where to go for short car drive in there area, he booked a half day trip in the Bay (Explorer NZ - highly recommended), organized the shuttle pick up and came back to our place 5 minutes before depature to give us extra tips for getting off the boat in Russel and what to do over there. His recommendations for restaurants where also good (Sally's in Russel and Lips Cafe in Paihia).

BUT... Besides all of this - the best think was the place itselfs. A few minutes car drive out of town, Cook's Lookout is located on top of a hill, overlooking the Bay of Island. There is a breathtaking panoramic view from the terrace, at day and even at nighttime, when the stars are out. The room itselfs (room 8) was clean and well furnitured. For me the best stay in Paihia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lookout Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.