We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locaton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   27 Kings Rd., Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great locaton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great location and very friendly staff, I didn't pay full price for the rooms, as got it on a deal but was worth what I paid, don't think I would want to pay full price. The only problem for me was that the bed was a bit hard and there were no bowls, plates or cutlery so was forced to go out for breakfast which is quite pricey around paihia. Over all though its a nice clean place to stay in a fantastic spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel stay was fine for what we paid, but i got a bad rash from the spa pool hence my rating. It didn't look clean, but i assumed they must have to test the water and thought i was just being fussy, so we went in it and i had a shower straight afterwards, but still got the rash which a week later is improved but still got a way to go until it's gone. Other than that the room was pleasant but tired. Bathroom in particular is tired and bath has been repaired with putty which looks unsightly. We paid $75 a night and at that price we were more than happy with our stay (other than the spa). Location is good - a short walk to the shops/restaurants. Staff helpful and friendly. We had wifi included in our stay and it worked well. Usually is $5 for 90 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked this hotel online and thankfully got a pretty good deal because the rooms were not indeed worth the normal rate. The hotel is very outdated, the rooms very 'average' more of a low budget motel style. Our 'pool view' room was located near the carpark and although we could see the pool it was through the carpark.. The beds were comfortable but it wasn't 'hotel quality'. Don't go to the restaurant, the food is average to below standard for the price. Best to walk into the town and choose many of the other better quality restaurants.
We stayed there with our son who is 4 years old and was hoping for a quiet swim, but the roudy teenagers jumping in and out of the pool seemed to frighten him, not to mention the pool and spa area needed an upgrade.
Wouldn't stay there again until they've upgraded the pool complex and the restaurant and pretty much everything.
The staff were very nice though.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms aren't exactly poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The rooms are good and clean. The beds are comfy and the staff are friendly & helpful. Short walk to the beach. Got the one night voucher through grabone. had dinner at the Volcanic restaurant which was a good experience. Would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very happy with this hotel, it was very good value, clean and pleasant. No complaints :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here,on a Grab One deal, following an overnight cruise out to the Bay of Islands. The managers kindly let us park our car the night we were on our boat trip and were very helpful in ensuring we were picked up for the wharf transfer.
Our room was clean and spacious - fine for our overnight stay - and whlie the hotel is not on the waterfront, it's a very short walk from the village/cafes

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We had a really good time in that hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights and got a free upgrade to a larger room ! The spa and swimming pool areas are really nice ! The room was really clean and the morning breakfast was normal.
Would stay there again !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Paihia Pacific Hotel Paihia
Paihia Pacific Resort
Paihia Pacific Hotel
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel Bay Of Islands
Address: 27 Kings Rd., Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the tranquil atmosphere of The Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel. Swim in the pool, relax in our spa, enjoy a sauna, work out in our gymnasium or tan yourself in the sunbed. Most of our rooms look over a natural setting of native and subtropical plantings and are available at surprisingly affordable rates. The Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel is located at 27 Kings Road, Paihia, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. It is a short stroll to the ocean and only a 5 minute walk into Paihia town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.