We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Longhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Mike and John take such good care of you in this beautiful property. The breakfast is sensational, the rooms stunning and the company and local knowledge fantastic. Thank you for making our long weekend extra special

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks for your review " Wonderful"
We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and having a few laughs along the way.
Your long weekend with us was exciting to say the least due to the reasons behind you coming to the Bay Of Islands from Wellington.. We are really pleased that all went really well for the big occasion and everybody had a great time.
Once again it was a pleasure looking after you at Longhouse and would love to see you back this way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
40
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I greatly enjoyed this wonderful B & B. Our room was large and quiet, and had its own balcony facing bushland. The host was friendly and put on an excellent breakfast. The place is just a short drive from town, but secluded enough to give a country field. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure looking after you. So pleased you enjoyed staying in the Queen room. We hope to see you back this way again at some time.
Once again thanks for staying at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our second visit to the Longhouse, with the last one being in May. We were on a tight schedule this time, so only got to spend one night.
As with our last visit - everything was perfection.

The welcoming was heartwarming, the room an immaculately clean, sweet-smelling haven, and the rest of the home a relaxing refuge.
The bed is like a cloud, and the outdoor areas a delightful place to sit and relax.

Breakfast was a culinary treat, served with pride in presentation, and tasted fabulous.
(Even the plates are warmed!!)

One of the very best places to just unwind - and the hosts John & Mike are always happy to be of help, in any way they can.
We WILL be back again!! :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Ladys as always was a pleasure and was so glad that you chose to stay at Longhouse again even if it was for such a short time and be a part of your special day. it always fun when you are both here as you bring such happy smiles with you. Hope the big day went well for you both and sorry that I was unable to make it. Look forward to your return in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

At the end of our 7 week trip through NZ, we stayed five nights at Longhouse B&B, just a two minute drive outside Paihia. Based in a very quiet, relaxing area (loved the sun deck!), a great to escape from the sometimes busy town, but still close enough to visit restaurants and the town of Russell. And although it rained for two and a half day, it turned out to be an unforgettable stay!

John welcomed us very friendly into his house and showed our very comfortable King room, what a space! Everything was present: bathrobes, luxurious shampoo products, tv, wifi, tea and coffee making facilities and a private balcony. Not to mention the comfortable kingsize bed!

John was the perfect host. He helped us by explaining about the surroundings and what to do in the area, recommended us some great restaurants in town (he's a former chef so he knows all about it), made us the BEST and freshest breakfast of our stay in NZ (even the delicious muesli is homemade) and we had some nice conversations with him and the other guests. John even made us a very delicious pasta on a horrible rainy day (so we didn't have to go out for dinner).

In terms of B&B's this was beyond perfection!

John & Mike: Thanks again! We hope you had a great Christmas party last saturday!

Marcel & Anja

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable, but we loved the King room with our own balcony and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Well Marcel & Anja what can i say but thank you so much for your wonderful comment and feed back. Although the weather was not up to northlands better standard i am glad that Longhouse was able to make your stay in the Bay of Islands enjoyable after coming to the end of your long journey you were able to relax and enjoy some your time.Once again thank you it was a pleasure for us both to help this happen, and there will always be a warm welcome to yourself and friends that may pass by this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Longhouse was the very BEST accommodation that we stayed at, during our entire 3wks in NZ.
Immaculate comfy rooms, outstanding hosts, delicious culinary fare.
Left us wanting for nothing.

Loved the company of our hosts, and feel very blessed that we not only found this gorgeous lil slice of "heaven in the hill", but that we felt so welcomed.
Very sad to leave - but hoping to go back!!
(Maybe they'll plan our next wedding!!) :)))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and comments and it was a real treat to look after you for your stay in the Bay of Islands . We hope that on your next visit you choose to stay with us again at LONGHOUSE... Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our friends and we spent two wonderful nights in the Bay of Islands, staying at the Longhouse B&B. Our charming host, John greeted us warmly and took us to our rooms. The rooms were more than comfortable, including free Wifi, heating, fluffy towels. We had booked in for a dinner on the first night and it was first class. Home made pate, superb salmon and a divine cheesecake all served in the cosy kitchen cum family room. We all felt very much at home and would recommend it to anyone who want comfort while exploring the beautiful area of the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, was a great pleasure looking after you and glad that you enjoyed the dinner and the breakfast,along with your stay in the Bay of Islands.
I also enjoyed the time we had having pre- dinner drinks and the wonderful company you were,and i hope that the next time your are in NZ that you choose to stay at Longhouse again.
By the way we now have full lenth mirror LOL..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I travel a lot and usually stay away from B&B's, opting for the privacy and anonymity of a hotel... but I have to say the Longhouse was a great choice for a weekend getaway, even for this cynical traveler.

It's only a 2 minute drive to Paihia, but completely secluded on a hill among native bush. The spacious queen room I stayed in had a private deck, and John was a great host. He's a chef as well, so ask about having dinner as well as breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Public Relations Manager at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you Jeff for your favarable comments, and was glad that we were able to convert you away from always staying in Hotels.It wasa pleasure making you welcome into our home and giving you a homely experience,we hope that when you are next in New Zealand that you will come back to the bay of Islands for a longer vist and enjoy more of the Longhouse and surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longhouse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful spot in the Bay of Islands, Longhouse is an idyllic place to stay to relax and unwind. We are just 3 km from bustling Paihia for all of the Bay of Islands activities. Two minutes to the amazing Haruru Falls and only ten minutes to Kerikeri. We have three rooms available to our guests. The King room with en-suite, King Size bed (can be made into a twin) is situated at one end of the house for privacy that has its own balcony and entrance. The Queen Room with En-Suite is situated at the opposite end of the house with own entrance and balcony adjoining to the main deck area. The Princess Room is a smaller room and is a shared bathroom with one other room and this has direct access on to the main deck. Delicious Full English or Continental Breakfasts are included in all of the room prices. Dinner is also available by prior arrangement. A two minute drive to Paihia to enjoy your Island Boat Trips, Russell, Waitangi Treaty Grounds and the local Golf Course or just to relax on the local beach. There are plenty of other activities available to you that the Bay Of Islands has to offer. You can explore further by driving to the Top Of New Zealand to Cape Reinga and discover the beautiful beaches en route either on your way up or on your return. With all this on your doorstep come and join us at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. You won’t regret it. Your hosts John and Mike will look forward to welcoming guests to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Longhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Bed And Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.