We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Longhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very enjoyable 3 night stay over the Easter break. It is a private setting just a few minutes from the main town and away from the hustle and bustle. On arrival the hosts made us feel comfortable and were knowledgeable about what there was to do in Paihia and the best eating spots around town. We loved the king deluxe room that we had booked and thought it was fantastic value for money compared to other accommodation over this period. The breakfast was delicious and we were lucky enough to have the Sunday roast included in our 3 night package. We will not hesitate to recommend to others and would certainly stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for staying with us at Longhouse. It was great looking after you and so pleased you enjoyed the meals provided. We would love to have you stay again. Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
27
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Longhouse Bed and Breakfast is situated outside Paihia, a little off the road to Haruru Falls. It is a perfectly secluded and tranquil place to get away from the tourism bustle on the coast and yet be within reach of all the activities.

Travelling on my own and after a lot of driving and spending every night in a different place, I had been searching for a comfortable yet affordable room to relax, unwind and rest a few days. Longhouse turned out to be the perfect choice.

I stayed in the Queen Room for $109 per night and what I got was:
- a very spacious room
- comfortable bed
- free WIFI
- functional kitchenette
- beautiful bathroom (including the fluffiest bathrobe I've ever worn)
- my own little balcony that was part of the larger deck
- delicious breakfast

The road was not too far away, so I could hear the traffic, but it wasn't too bad and died down at nights. Plus, the crickets were louder. Longhouse is within easy walking distance from Haruru Falls and there is a beautiful forest walk from there to Waitangi Treaty Ground.

Without any doubt the best about Longhouse, though, are John and Mike, the hosts. They are just incredibly lovely and made me feel so welcome. I wanted to go on a sailing trip? Mike drove me down to Paihia harbour. I did not want to go out for dinner on my own? They invited me to share theirs (and John is an awesome cook). I needed to do some washing? They did it.

Thank you so much, guys! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. After your trip through New Zealand it was great to see that you were able to relax and unwind and enjoy the time at Longhouse in our Queen Room and of course your exploring in the Bay Of Islands. Especially the sailing which we know you had a fantastic day. Hope the tan was topped up enough for your time in Samoa. We thoroughly enjoyed your time here and the dinner we had together. You will be well back into routine now you are back in Germany but we hope the memories of Longhouse and the Bay of Islands and N.Z will stay with you. All the very best and if you are ever in this part of the world again we would love to have you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had 4 nights at the Longhouse B&B at Haruru Falls, Paihia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Both John and Mike were very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful with great tips on what to see and where to go. They organised some trips for us, and even dropped us off and picked us up again for one event. The B&B was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, in a quiet, but convenient, location and a great place to return to after a tiring day of touring. We had an evening meal which John cooked on our last evening and it was delicious.

Room Tip: The King room was very large and had its own little terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It was a pleasure looking after you. We are really pleased you enjoyed the King Room at Longhouse. The Bay of Islands is a magical place and we are really thrilled you enjoyed the tours you went on. We both enjoyed having dinner with you on your final night and still brings back happy memories of your time with us. Hope all is well in the Uk and hope to see you again if you travel to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful 2 nights stay at Longhouse, everything was just perfect,the location, the room which was modern, well appointed and very clean was extremely comfortable.
Our hosts John and Mike were friendly, very helpful and the best hosts, the breakfasts were wonderful also.

If you are wanting a luxurious place to stay in the Bay of Islands being extremely well looked after then Longhouse is the place to be,

thank you John and Mike

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments. No doubt you will be well back into the Waiheke routine by now. It was great looking after you and hope that we will be able to sometime again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, 1st January to 3rd. The house is just a delight, and the setting is beautiful. John was so helpful and kind. He is a great cook, too. We had an evening meal that was delicious. He is so friendly and he relaxes one straight away. We can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Having visited Bournemouth last year in June it was lovely having people to stay who were from there. 2013 is moving on quickly but it was so nice to have you here for the new year period. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal as it is always a pleasure cooking for guests whilst they are here. We hope the rest of your visit to New Zealand was a pleasureable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location as a base to explore Paihia, Waitangi and the Bay of Islands, excellent, spotless accommodation in a scenic location, and extremely helpful hosts,who even gave us lifts when our car broke down! Great home made breakfasts, too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review,It is always a great treat for us to catch up with our guest's who have lived in the same cities that we have in the UK. it is all part of our service to help with any problems that may come along, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anger, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The iSite in Paihia offered this place and we really enjoyed our stay with Mike and John. They were wonderful hosts, very kind and always helpful. Our room in this almost brand-new home was very clean, we even had our own veranda. The breakfast was excellent. Go there, you'll never regret ! Thanks, Mike and John !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, and we were so glad that the I-Site booked you in to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your own veranda area where you were able to chill out after your days outings. Hope the rest of your trip went well in NZ, and it was great to talk with people who were in the same line of business as Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longhouse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful spot in the Bay of Islands, Longhouse is an idyllic place to stay to relax and unwind. We are just 3 km from bustling Paihia for all of the Bay of Islands activities. Two minutes to the amazing Haruru Falls and only ten minutes to Kerikeri. We have three rooms available to our guests. The King room with en-suite, King Size bed (can be made into a twin) is situated at one end of the house for privacy that has its own balcony and entrance. The Queen Room with En-Suite is situated at the opposite end of the house with own entrance and balcony adjoining to the main deck area. The Princess Room is a smaller room and is a shared bathroom with one other room and this has direct access on to the main deck. Delicious Full English or Continental Breakfasts are included in all of the room prices. Dinner is also available by prior arrangement. A two minute drive to Paihia to enjoy your Island Boat Trips, Russell, Waitangi Treaty Grounds and the local Golf Course or just to relax on the local beach. There are plenty of other activities available to you that the Bay Of Islands has to offer. You can explore further by driving to the Top Of New Zealand to Cape Reinga and discover the beautiful beaches en route either on your way up or on your return. With all this on your doorstep come and join us at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. You won’t regret it. Your hosts John and Mike will look forward to welcoming guests to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Longhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Bed And Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.