We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really feel welcome !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Longhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You really feel welcome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Between Paihia and Haruru falls, a secluded peaceful place to stay. Spotless super comfy room, stunning sleep quality, this place is definitely a good choice. Mike will do anything to put you at ease and help you to sort what to visit in the region. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased that you found our King Room comfortable and had an enjoyable stay at Longhouse. Should you ever return to New Zealand we would look forward to welcoming you back to Longhouse in the beautiful Bay Of Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Visiting the Longhouse was a wonderful experience. I was only there for a night, but I just loved the deck and the view of the tea-tree, with the smell of the ocean not too far away. The reason for my visit was unusual, but it involved meeting up with friends and what was wonderful about Longhouse was the amazing dinner that John prepared for us. I came home to Australia determined to make my own pate, John told us it is easy, but I haven't made it yet - that's the thing about the kind of hospitality that chefs can provide, they make the food look so easy and taste delicious.

The rooms are great, the deck is a fabulous place to sit and reflect on all the wonderful sights the Bay of Islands has to offer, and chat with great hosts and new friends, John and Mike, as well as having a wonderful dinner with my old friends.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you at Longhouse and look forward to your return. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and maybe one day John will let his little secret out about his Pate". One day when we are in Melbourne we would love to catch up with you. Keep in contact
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Longhouse B&B, appreciated the good design and attention to details and comfortable bed :-) Also, breakfast from chef John was a delight - he is a former chef and knows his cooking! Everything is modern and clean, nestled in a rural setting and lovely view of the forest. Just a few minutes by car from the beach and Paihia. I appreciated John´s warmhearted hospitality and he also provided a lot of good information about the area. I can most certainly recommend staying here - and look forward to returning myself!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to you returning to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great location with a lovely friendly atmosphere. We stayed for two nights in this beautiful area, had gorgeous weather and stayed in a lovely modernised B&B with very friendly hosts. The breakfast provided was wonderful setting us all up for a local hike and shopping afterwards. The room was clean, modern and the shower amazing on a chilly morning. We will certainly be staying here everytime we visit the area from now on.

Room Tip: The King size is separate from the main house and lovely, modern, clean and large. This is the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Longhouse Bed And Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longhouse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful spot in the Bay of Islands, Longhouse is an idyllic place to stay to relax and unwind. We are just 3 km from bustling Paihia for all of the Bay of Islands activities. Two minutes to the amazing Haruru Falls and only ten minutes to Kerikeri. We have three rooms available to our guests. The King room with en-suite, King Size bed (can be made into a twin) is situated at one end of the house for privacy that has its own balcony and entrance. The Queen Room with En-Suite is situated at the opposite end of the house with own entrance and balcony adjoining to the main deck area. The Princess Room is a smaller room and is a shared bathroom with one other room and this has direct access on to the main deck. Delicious Full English or Continental Breakfasts are included in all of the room prices. Dinner is also available by prior arrangement. A two minute drive to Paihia to enjoy your Island Boat Trips, Russell, Waitangi Treaty Grounds and the local Golf Course or just to relax on the local beach. There are plenty of other activities available to you that the Bay Of Islands has to offer. You can explore further by driving to the Top Of New Zealand to Cape Reinga and discover the beautiful beaches en route either on your way up or on your return. With all this on your doorstep come and join us at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. You won’t regret it. Your hosts John and Mike will look forward to welcoming guests to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Longhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.