We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At The Beach B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added At The Beach B&B to your Saves list
At The Beach B&B
1A Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #13 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tranquil Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful days here and were looked after fabulously by Jane, Doug and Alice. Awesome sea views, spacious rooms, large kitchen dining area, large modern bathroom, air conditioning, and a really comfy kingsize bed... not to mention the delicious cooked breakfasts every morning. Jane is a fabulous host who has every detail covered in this delightful, self-contained B&B, and ensures your privacy is paramount. Cannot recommend more highly... we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Totally fulfilled our need for a mini breakaway from family. Peaceful, private & quiet, stunning views, but not too far from the town. Lovely, friendly hosts who served us delicious breakfasts whilst we were spoilt with the magnificent view out over the bay. SO easy to relax and enjoy. Clean and cosy bedroom with large kitchen, living areas with access to a small courtyard and gardens, leading to a pathway access to the beach. Perfect place to recharge, we'll be back !.

Room Tip: Both units ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Thankyou Jane and Doug for a wonderful stay in Paihia at your B&B!
The view from the bedroom and breakfast balcony is hands down the best view of the Bay in Paihia! Weather was perfect and Jane and Doug were so welcoming! do hope to return again soon! Many Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice little B&B about a 10 minute beach walk from the town, so nice and quiet. Good hosts, breaky and views. It was very pleasant to just sit outside the room and read a book (no TV in my room, which was good). The WiFi wasn't strong enough to reach my iPhone, so had to move closer to the house, which wasn't a problem. There's a good 5 hour walk you can do around the bay to Russell, and then grab the ferry back, which was a healthy way to unwind and see a variety of scenery such as bays, mangroves and forests. Jane gave me a slice of home made cake as a parting gift, which was very yummy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at At The Beach B&B, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks Bill - we enjoyed meeting you and loved your enthusiasm for the long walk around the Bay . thank you for showing us how easily it can be done! Your comments regarding the WiFi are appreciated - you are the second person to have had issues recently so we have already contacted Telecom for a stronger aerial to improve our signal. And yes, we deliberately keep our downstairs room TV-free for those, like you, who prefer no distraction to total switch off and enjoying the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had a lovely time staying At the Beach. Fantastic views, great accommodation, friendly hosts, and yummy breakfasts.
Will certainly be staying again - the view from the huge picture window in the bedroom is worth the trip :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A wonderful start to our great Kiwi road trip; our Yachtview apartment was spacious with stunning views of the sunrise, a supremely comfortable bed, modern bathroom, kitchen facilities if required and a very warm welcome from Jane with tea and home-baking. Excellent breakfasts served in the sun-room overlooking the Bay, great advice on local restaurants, we enjoyed the walk along the beach to the village and preferred to be on the edge of Paihia as it was quiet and peaceful.
Thank you Jane and Doug, we hope to be back.... Fern & Charles

Room Tip: Yachtview has amazing views of the sunrise and you can sit in the garden, Beachview has its own litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here from June 5 for 3 nights and it was just great in every way.

The view from the room was amazing as it was when we dined in the main house for Breakfast each morning.

The room we had was like a small apartment in effect. Massive king bed, spacious bathroom, kitchen facilities with dining table and a wee room with a couch for relaxing as well. Very warm and comfortable.

The breakfasts each morning were exceptional, tasty, plentiful and fresh - you have to try the black pudding and also the jams were home made with fruit from the garden.

The location is a little out of the main part of Paihia, not an issue for us as it was exceptionally peaceful. It is only 2 minutes drive to town though and you could walk there via the beach (we didnt as unfortunately the weather was not really conducive to this)

The hosts were very friendly too and when we left we received some freshly made cakes. Lovely stuff.

Overall - exceptional value for money

Room Tip: Yacht View is brilliant, great view and loads of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At The Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Beach B&B

Address: 1A Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have perhaps found the best kept Bed and Breakfast accommodation secret in the Bay of Islands……At The Beach B & B in Paihia offers two accommodation options, both with superb sea views. The spacious Yachtview Unit is fully self-contained with kitchenette (sleeps up to 4) while Beachview is a well-appointed ensuite room with kingsize(or twin)bed, fridge, tea and coffee facilities, and a sunny patio. Your hosts Jane and Doug serve a full breakfast including free range eggs and local preserves, either in the sunny breakfast room overlooking the Bay or in the peace and tranquillity of your own accommodation. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your At The Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Beach B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At The Beach B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.