We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, central location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Busby Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Busby Manor
Save
You added Busby Manor to your Saves list
34 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free $100 tour/internet
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, central location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a very comfortable weeks stay on a ground floor unit. Although the decor was a bit dated, it was clean and tidy and comfortable for two. There is a large swimming pool with separate spa pool on site, although we chose to walk along the beach for a romantic stroll each night.
The location is excellent with the beach directly across the road and within walking distance to the shops and eateries.
Busby Manor is a great base to get out for day trips to see what the Bay of Islands has to offer like the Waitangi Grounds, The Hole in the Rock, Cape Regina, Tane Mahuta and more.
The staff were friendly and helpful and we have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.
It is suitable for couples and families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The resort was beautifully maintained and appointed.
The location was just great, close to local beaches, restaurants and amenities.
The staff were pleasant, obliging and helpful.
Paihia is a lovely location with lots of things to do.
Fishermen are also well catered for with lots of fishing charters.
There is a vey good ferry service to Russell which is worth a day visit, with lunch at the Duke of Wellington hotel. A trip on the tour bus around town is also well worth a try.

Thoroughly recommend Paihia as a tourist destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I booked our stay at Busby Manor through RCI. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jo, a delightfully happy and helpful lady who had us checked in very quickly. She then escorted us to our 2 bedroom apartment, which was spotlessly clean and well appointed. This is the best time-share resort I've been to! Everything you need is supplied, the swimming pool was great, and the location (right across from the water) is superb. You have the option to hire bikes and canoes from Busby Manor, and they will organise tours for you.

The shopping area of Paihia is a few hundred metres down the road (no hills) and the surrounding restaurants are plentiful.

It was such a relaxing week - we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: As the complex is 2 storeys high, it would be best to ask for a ground floor apartment if stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We used timeshare for a week's accommodation with friends and we all thought it was great. Small enough to feel cosy but enough room outdoors to enjoy the swiming pool, spa, barbecues and wonderful outlook over the bay without feeling like you were intruding into other people's space. The rooms have everything you need and are the whole place is kept clean and neat. This is an older establishment so the attention to detail is appreciated and noticeable. The staff are friendly and helpful and you can hire fishing rods, lifejackets, bikes plus tours can be booked from the front desk. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a week here. We found the location great, over the road from the water's edge. The apartment was very small but clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. It's a short walk into the small 4 square, cafes etc. We found not much to do here except a dolphin watching (where we saw no dolphins). It has a holiday feel about the place. Our apartment was very small. I was surprised it had no air con. We had to sit with a blanket on us in the evenings. No dishwasher, no bathtub. Also although the bed was comfortable, I didn't like the 2 heavy blankets and bedspread for covers. I prefer a doona which is much lighter. The blankets were so heavy. The TV was not much bigger than a computer screen and the 2 seater lounge chairs not very comfortable. The barbecue area was quite nice around the pool. It has an onsite laundry where you point coins in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Busby manor is well located, accross the road is the beach, all on the flat. Other timeshares in Paihia, are on the side of a hill. The shops and wharf are 350m flat walk. Busby Manor staff were great, and the timeshare in excellent condition. Booking activities through the timeshare you get a discount on most acitivities, well worth doing. All in all a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

A time share accomodation in the middle of the waterfront at this New Zealand resort community is in a convenient location close enough to town to walk to the Russell ferry and the local restaurants. A single bedroom is adequate for two people and it is well maintained and with pleanty of towels and blankets for a winter stay. The fact that it was fully occupied in the midst of the Southern Hemisphere off-season (winter) in evidence of the attraction of this facility.

Room Tip: The ground floor ones are most convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Busby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busby Manor

Address: 34 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Busby Manor Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busby Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.