We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Islands Holiday park

Bay of Islands Holiday park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay of Islands Holiday park
Save Saved
You added Bay of Islands Holiday park to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Puketona Rd | Paihia, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Hamilton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Has potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The spot by the river is lovely but our trip was ruined by the fact that the staff were unhelpful in most cases and did almost nothing to manage the noise at night. Subsequently we were kept awake a lot. Most campgrounds have someone that goes around and quietens the place down at about 10.30 or 11 and there were signs about but these were not enforced. These guys dont seem to care if nobody sleeps. The pool and toilets were less than clean, but the kitchen was good. A number of the appliances didnt seem to work though. Nice rec room and lovely mature trees which would make this a great place to stay if it was just managed with a bit more enthusiasm. We would definitely not stay there again. I guess goo for those wanting a nopisy party time with no restrictions....not for families

Room Tip: If you are tenting, go by the river... the road noise on the other side is a pain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, NZ
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

With so many RVs on the road these days, it’s great to review a great camping ground. Bay of Islands Holiday Park is an ideal stop-off point if you’re visiting Paihia and Kerikeri. The park is only a few minutes from Paihia, set in tree-studded surroundings with the Waitangi River running alongside. The park has powered and unpowered sites, cabins, motels, well equipped kitchen, excellent shower and toilet facilities, swimming pool and kids’ playground. We have stayed here several times and consider it to be the best in the BOI region. It’s also handy for touring, boating, golf and so on. The managers are knowledgeable about what’s to do, they’re very friendly and helpful and their staff keep the park spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have visited this site for many years using the camp grounds and cabins (budget cabins through to a small house). It is a spacious site by a lovely river. The amenities are clean and well maintained (laundry, cooking, playground, swimming pool).
The people working there are welcoming, give advice on local events and are clearly committed to keeping the site at its best.
It is located 7km out of Paihai and Kerikeri is a little further the other way. This is a perfect hideaway base location to explore the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were apprehensive of staying in this holiday park at first because of its distance from the town centre. It was such a lovely spot though - very quiet and spacious with nice views of the river from the motel unit. The location was also handy for exploring this part of the Bay of Islands since it was on the way to Kerikeri and not far from Waitangi. The cottage itself was large and was more like a small house than a motel unit. It was also well equipped with full oven, cutlery etc. The kids playground was also great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Of Plenty
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

A really nice and lovely camp ground near the river.
Clean faciltities - lovely swimming pool - neat playground - flying fox.
We stayed in a gorgeous 2 brm fully self-contained lockwood cottage with a nice huge balcony and had our own patio furntiure incl umbrella to use!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Islands Holiday park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Holiday park

Address: Puketona Rd | Paihia, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Islands Holiday park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a large tree studded park along side the Waitangi River.Safe swimming in river and kayaks to hire. We offer a range of accommodation from well-presented tourist flats to cabins and plenty of level powered and non-powered sites, for tenting and campervans and caravans. We cater for large school groups with our simple but comfortable cabins.Central location allows your to enjoy the best of all the activities the beautiful Bay of Islands has to offer with a 10 minute drive to Paihia or Keri Keri.We have wireless internet and are pet friendly (sorry no pets in tourist flats)We also have holiday homes in central Paihia please inquire for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Holiday Park Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Islands Holiday park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.