We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seabeds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seabeds
Save
You added Seabeds to your Saves list
46 Davis Crescent, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top of the List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Seabeds knows it is good and wants to stay on the top of the list for backpackers. I stayed two nights and found the place exceeded all expectations. Clean, good room, fantastic bathroom, communal kitchen and lounge just superb all at a great price. It more than competes with any standard motel in NZ at half the price.
All of the above created a great ambience for the guests and I had had two lovely nights as a result
If you can get in: just go there. You wont be let down.

Room Tip: 5 star backpackers and better than most standard motels at a backpacker price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
25
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Me and a friend of mine have choosen the place, because it has a great rating at bbh (bbh.co.nz for infos) and we wanted to relax the last days in New Zealand. It tourned out that it was a great desicion.

The hostel is well designed and celan also there are no bunk beds and even the dorms have an ensuite bathroom which is very clean. The location was great because it was quiet and next to the beach and only about a 10min walk to town and 5min to the supermarket.

The kitchen is really good equiped (we baked a lot because it was raining) and got cleaned twice a day.

The only thing that was really annoying is the kitchen door, which should get fixed, because it is hard and loud to close it. Also one day there have been ants in the kitchen (the staff cleaned everything that day and afterwards it was not a problem anymore).

Fazit: Great rooms for a good value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great place to stay - Marie was awesome, gave me some coffee & sun cream, it's cheap, clean & friendly & they can sort all of your trips in Paihia (both boat trip + tour of cape reinga is a must)

Shame it doesnt have free wifi... altho seems that nowhere in NZ does!

Really good value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at Seabeds for two nights in January and what a lovely experience! The room and bathroom were clean, and even new looking. The kitchen/shared area was nicely decorated and very homey. We really enjoyed our stay at Seabeds and would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Paihia.

Room Tip: Location is just a little walk from the town center but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

this will be our last night at Seabeds, so sorry to have to move on, this place is fantastic, beautiful clean rooms, and very friendly staff, always read to help, views from upstairs are fantastic overlooking the bay. would recommend to anyone. need to book in advance as so popular during peek season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our return trip to NZ two years after our orginal review. The same excellent accommodation but I would advise you phone to book in advance during January/Febuary as it now has a full listing in the BBH and other guides and is very popular.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean quiet well decorated hostel with very polite and helpful staff. Excellent location just off the beach with single beds rather than bunks very modern bathroom, kitchen diner and lounge TV area.
I would recommend to stay here rather than the other backpackers for those seeking a good nights sleep and something a little more relaxing than the party hostels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
#6 of 28 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Paihia
Haka Lodge Paihia
#2 of 28 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabeds

Address: 46 Davis Crescent, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Seabeds Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.