We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seabeds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seabeds
46 Davis Crescent, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty lodging in Paihia
Perth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top of the List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Seabeds knows it is good and wants to stay on the top of the list for backpackers. I stayed two nights and found the place exceeded all expectations. Clean, good room, fantastic bathroom, communal kitchen and lounge just superb all at a great price. It more than competes with any standard motel in NZ at half the price.
All of the above created a great ambience for the guests and I had had two lovely nights as a result
If you can get in: just go there. You wont be let down.

Room Tip: 5 star backpackers and better than most standard motels at a backpacker price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Me and a friend of mine have choosen the place, because it has a great rating at bbh (bbh.co.nz for infos) and we wanted to relax the last days in New Zealand. It tourned out that it was a great desicion.

The hostel is well designed and celan also there are no bunk beds and even the dorms have an ensuite bathroom which is very clean. The location was great because it was quiet and next to the beach and only about a 10min walk to town and 5min to the supermarket.

The kitchen is really good equiped (we baked a lot because it was raining) and got cleaned twice a day.

The only thing that was really annoying is the kitchen door, which should get fixed, because it is hard and loud to close it. Also one day there have been ants in the kitchen (the staff cleaned everything that day and afterwards it was not a problem anymore).

Fazit: Great rooms for a good value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great place to stay - Marie was awesome, gave me some coffee & sun cream, it's cheap, clean & friendly & they can sort all of your trips in Paihia (both boat trip + tour of cape reinga is a must)

Shame it doesnt have free wifi... altho seems that nowhere in NZ does!

Really good value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at Seabeds for two nights in January and what a lovely experience! The room and bathroom were clean, and even new looking. The kitchen/shared area was nicely decorated and very homey. We really enjoyed our stay at Seabeds and would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Paihia.

Room Tip: Location is just a little walk from the town center but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

this will be our last night at Seabeds, so sorry to have to move on, this place is fantastic, beautiful clean rooms, and very friendly staff, always read to help, views from upstairs are fantastic overlooking the bay. would recommend to anyone. need to book in advance as so popular during peek season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our return trip to NZ two years after our orginal review. The same excellent accommodation but I would advise you phone to book in advance during January/Febuary as it now has a full listing in the BBH and other guides and is very popular.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean quiet well decorated hostel with very polite and helpful staff. Excellent location just off the beach with single beds rather than bunks very modern bathroom, kitchen diner and lounge TV area.
I would recommend to stay here rather than the other backpackers for those seeking a good nights sleep and something a little more relaxing than the party hostels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seabeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabeds

Address: 46 Davis Crescent, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty lodging in Paihia
Also Known As:
Seabeds Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seabeds to your Saves list