We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marlin House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Paihia B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lynda and Roger were the perfect hosts. We received a very warm welcome which made us feel immediately at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they couldn't do enough for us. Their advice on where to go and what to see enabled us to make the most of our time. Our room was perfect in every way with every amenity available plus the added bonus of a balcony that had views you couldn't put a price on. The breakfast area had an equally stunning panorama from which to see the early morning sun and enjoy the delicious food on offer. We really didn't want to leave but hope that we might be lucky one day to be able to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This delightful B&B is an excellent choice. Guests have separate entrance to their rooms, which are spotlessly clean and very comfortably furnished. Rooms have a balcony, where you can sit and look at the stunning views. Guests eat breakfasts outside,if weather permits, and have an opportunity to meet other guests at the shared dining table. Breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. The fruit plates are
particularly good. Lynda and Roger were very obliging hosts, who helped us to make the most of our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marlin in February for 2 nights - Roger & Lynda were great hosts helping us to make the most of our time in Paihai, great breakfast to start the day , excellent location , lovely room and view from the deck, it couldn't have been better

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. The place has a gorgeous view of the water, they are up on a hill. The rooms are a little outdated and could use some updates. They are really big with a big living room and eat in area.
Linda and Roger are extremely nice and friendly and very helpful with all the tourists places and restaurants.
Their breakfasts are just delicious! And they even did a big breakfast for us one morning we had to eat at 6:30 am!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When I checked this B&B out on TA, I was amazed that it had 100% of the reviews at 'excellent'. After having stayed there, I now know why. We were in the Gold Room which has its own private balcony and huge picture windows across the front. The view as the sun rises in the morning is stunning ... and you can watch it in bed! The hotel location is away from the busy shore area and is wonderfully quiet. Breakfast is great and beautifully presented and is served on a deck with even more stunning views. Lynda and Roger are excellent hosts ... helpful but not intrusive. I can only add my excellent rating to the rest.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms ... All three were occupied and all the guests seemed very happy. We wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a beautiful B&B and such wonderful hosts. We stayed in the green room for 5 nights in February,2013. I worried if the steps might be too much but they weren't. We really only needed to bring our suitcases up 4 steps from the parking spot. It was a bit of hike up from the bottom of the hill but we are in our 60s and not in the best of shape. The breakfasts were very tasty. We needed an early wake up one morning and had a knock at our door and breakfast left in our room the night before. Lynda was very accommodating when we needed some clothes washed and the laudramat was closed. She even folded them for us. Roger had expressed some concern about how dirty our windows were for our drive back to Auckland. Next morning he had not only washed the windows but the whole van. Talk about going above and beyond. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found Marlin House to be the most delightful bed & breakfast accommodation. Our room had fantastic views and had superb facilities. Lynda & Roger could not do enough for us. We stayed for 3 nights in the gold room. Each morning we were served a different breakfast. All were delicious.
Marlin House is well placed for a short walk to shops and restaurants. Lynda & Roger were able to recommend places to go and where to eat.
If you are looking for a place to stay in Pahia then you should try to book Marlin House. It seems be consistently busy so make sure you make a reservation in advance. We have already told our Kiwi relatives about this fantastic b&b. Steve&Jayne Lederman

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet & restful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marlin House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlin House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin House is a comfortable colonial-style home set in a subtropical garden with ample off-street parking.Substantial decks provide stunning views of the Bay of Islands. An easy four minute walk to the beach, wharf, cafe's, restaurants and central Paihia. Marlin House offers three generous sized suites, each with a private entrance, a sitting and dinning area, ensuite, fridge, microwave and TV. Tea and coffee making facilities are alson provided.With Rogers restaurant/chef, experience we look forward to treating you to a special breakfast which will ensure a great start to the days many activities this region has to offer. Tailord excursions or activities can be orgainised. Lunch hampers and evening meals are available by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Marlin House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.