We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great views and excellent hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marlin House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great room, great views and excellent hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When I checked this B&B out on TA, I was amazed that it had 100% of the reviews at 'excellent'. After having stayed there, I now know why. We were in the Gold Room which has its own private balcony and huge picture windows across the front. The view as the sun rises in the morning is stunning ... and you can watch it in bed! The hotel location is away from the busy shore area and is wonderfully quiet. Breakfast is great and beautifully presented and is served on a deck with even more stunning views. Lynda and Roger are excellent hosts ... helpful but not intrusive. I can only add my excellent rating to the rest.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms ... All three were occupied and all the guests seemed very happy. We wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a beautiful B&B and such wonderful hosts. We stayed in the green room for 5 nights in February,2013. I worried if the steps might be too much but they weren't. We really only needed to bring our suitcases up 4 steps from the parking spot. It was a bit of hike up from the bottom of the hill but we are in our 60s and not in the best of shape. The breakfasts were very tasty. We needed an early wake up one morning and had a knock at our door and breakfast left in our room the night before. Lynda was very accommodating when we needed some clothes washed and the laudramat was closed. She even folded them for us. Roger had expressed some concern about how dirty our windows were for our drive back to Auckland. Next morning he had not only washed the windows but the whole van. Talk about going above and beyond. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found Marlin House to be the most delightful bed & breakfast accommodation. Our room had fantastic views and had superb facilities. Lynda & Roger could not do enough for us. We stayed for 3 nights in the gold room. Each morning we were served a different breakfast. All were delicious.
Marlin House is well placed for a short walk to shops and restaurants. Lynda & Roger were able to recommend places to go and where to eat.
If you are looking for a place to stay in Pahia then you should try to book Marlin House. It seems be consistently busy so make sure you make a reservation in advance. We have already told our Kiwi relatives about this fantastic b&b. Steve&Jayne Lederman

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet & restful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunzenschwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a nice time I spent with Lynda & Roger! They are just perfect hosts and make you feel at home. The weather was not that good, so I had to stay inside for breakfast, but was treated like a queen. The bedroom and living room made sort of a little apartment, where I felt very at home. I can highly recommend the Marlin House B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra AUS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the green room January 2013. As Bay of Islands was our first port of call on our North Island holiday, my only concern was that this magnificent accommodation made our following lodgings elsewhere seem 2nd rate. The green room is self contained, spacious, with private entry and balcony. It has superb tree lined views across Paihia and the bay. The furnishings are all top quality, comfy king bed. Breakfast on the deck is sumptious and healthy fare which starts every day superbly. Marlin House is a grand timber residence positioned just a short stroll down the hill to the tourist friendly town. There are ample waterfront restaurants, shops, the Russell ferry and the various tour operators are all in a short walk distance. The hosts happily assisted in any way possible. If you are staying in the bay of islands, you will be delighted with Marlin House.

Room Tip: Green room is self contained and private, built as an addition to the main residence around 2001. IM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
196 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Marlin House B&B was our final accommodation in New Zealand during our two weeks road trip. And it was the most appropriate closing! Fabulous B&B, in a quiet location amongst trees on the hillside overlooking the Bay of Islands. We had requested the green room which was spacious, with a dinner table and a couch and antique furniture. The bathroom was large, comfortable and squeaky clean. Roger and Lynda are wonderful hosts and extremely friendly. The breakfast offered was both continental and cooked and was delicious. On Christmas Eve tropical cyclone Evan hit the area with rain and strong winds thus cancelling our celebratory plans. Lynda and Roger, hosted us and another guest to a wonderful get together with sparkling wine and figure food and we had a memorable time that we will always cherish. Thank you to Lynda and Roger for a wonderful stay. Marlin House is a fantastic B&B in Paihia and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Marlin House was our first real stay (B&B) on our trip hrough NZ after arriving in Auckland the day before. We couldn't have had a better start! Lynda and Roger made our short visit to the Bay of Islands very special. They were very friendly, warm and for us "never-been-this-far-away-from-home-people" very helpful! They gave us very good advise about what to do with our little time we had to spent in Pahia, although we could have have spent much more time just chatting with them.

The rooms were very tidy, and a nice place to relax in the evening after a very busy day. The breakfest was superb (the best we had on our trip!), especially the day we took off. Roger made us a very large portion of scrambled eggs because "we had to eat good to be prepared for the long drive".

Lynda and Roger: thanx for the very warm welcome to New Zealand!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#3 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#1 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlin House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin House is a comfortable colonial-style home set in a subtropical garden with ample off-street parking.Substantial decks provide stunning views of the Bay of Islands. An easy four minute walk to the beach, wharf, cafe's, restaurants and central Paihia. Marlin House offers three generous sized suites, each with a private entrance, a sitting and dinning area, ensuite, fridge, microwave and TV. Tea and coffee making facilities are alson provided.With Rogers restaurant/chef, experience we look forward to treating you to a special breakfast which will ensure a great start to the days many activities this region has to offer. Tailord excursions or activities can be orgainised. Lunch hampers and evening meals are available by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Marlin House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.