We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of New Zealand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
15 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Canberra AUS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The best of New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the green room January 2013. As Bay of Islands was our first port of call on our North Island holiday, my only concern was that this magnificent accommodation made our following lodgings elsewhere seem 2nd rate. The green room is self contained, spacious, with private entry and balcony. It has superb tree lined views across Paihia and the bay. The furnishings are all top quality, comfy king bed. Breakfast on the deck is sumptious and healthy fare which starts every day superbly. Marlin House is a grand timber residence positioned just a short stroll down the hill to the tourist friendly town. There are ample waterfront restaurants, shops, the Russell ferry and the various tour operators are all in a short walk distance. The hosts happily assisted in any way possible. If you are staying in the bay of islands, you will be delighted with Marlin House.

Room Tip: Green room is self contained and private, built as an addition to the main residence around 2001. IM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Marlin House B&B was our final accommodation in New Zealand during our two weeks road trip. And it was the most appropriate closing! Fabulous B&B, in a quiet location amongst trees on the hillside overlooking the Bay of Islands. We had requested the green room which was spacious, with a dinner table and a couch and antique furniture. The bathroom was large, comfortable and squeaky clean. Roger and Lynda are wonderful hosts and extremely friendly. The breakfast offered was both continental and cooked and was delicious. On Christmas Eve tropical cyclone Evan hit the area with rain and strong winds thus cancelling our celebratory plans. Lynda and Roger, hosted us and another guest to a wonderful get together with sparkling wine and figure food and we had a memorable time that we will always cherish. Thank you to Lynda and Roger for a wonderful stay. Marlin House is a fantastic B&B in Paihia and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Marlin House was our first real stay (B&B) on our trip hrough NZ after arriving in Auckland the day before. We couldn't have had a better start! Lynda and Roger made our short visit to the Bay of Islands very special. They were very friendly, warm and for us "never-been-this-far-away-from-home-people" very helpful! They gave us very good advise about what to do with our little time we had to spent in Pahia, although we could have have spent much more time just chatting with them.

The rooms were very tidy, and a nice place to relax in the evening after a very busy day. The breakfest was superb (the best we had on our trip!), especially the day we took off. Roger made us a very large portion of scrambled eggs because "we had to eat good to be prepared for the long drive".

Lynda and Roger: thanx for the very warm welcome to New Zealand!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Wonderful quiet location on hillside above Paihia waterfront, with fabulous view over Bay of Islands - the room and bathroom were spacious & comfortable - off road secure parking - breakfast was excellent, whatever you wanted - easy walking to beach restaurants and activities - Lynda & Roger are excellent hosts and gave valuable local advice - there is a lot of motel accommodation in the area, but this is hugely better for around the same price .....so!....

Room Tip: Green room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights with Lynda and Roger over New Year, and it was wonderful. The room was huge - really spacious and in a standalone unit so you have lots of privacy. Immaculate presentation of the room as well, very comfortable and everything was provided that you could ask for. Lovely hosts - we felt like family and were honoured when Lynda and Roger asked us up on to the top terrace to watch the fireworks at midnight! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will never stay anywhere but here when in the area. Nothing was too much trouble and we were very reluctant to leave as you made our stay in NZ very special. Great breakfast, great chat and a gorgeous setting, very close to the beach and centre in a beautiful quiet resort. We will return!! Thanks again for a great stay! Lorraine & Andy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Another long overdue review -- life happens! But the Marlin House had to be one of the most beautiful and delightful places that we had stayed at anywhere. Roger ad Lynda, our host and hostess should get a medal for being the perfect hosts. From the first contact with them in the booking process to our good-byes, they were amazing -- like family --the family you really like!
The location up a hill just off the main road of delightful Paihia, but the walk is not bad at all. But when you are up there in your room or on the terrace outside your room or at the breakfast table on the terrace, the views of the gorgeous Bay of Islands is magnificent -- as it the lush greenery and vegetation at Marlin House and all around.
The meals were superb and the atmosphere could not have been better.
Our room was beautiful and the whole experience was one that we will never forget.
Yes we would go back! Yes we would recommend this gem! Yes we would want to stay a lot longer. This is pure charm. Thanks Roger and Lynda!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This wasn't our first time as guests at Marlin House B&B, but our second stay there.

Having a break from the cold of the south Island and inparticular the Earthquakes of Christchurch. What a welcome relief to visit the warmth of the top of the North Island.

Roger and Lynda deserve some words of appreciation for all the passion and dedication they've conveyed in their B&B.
They're very nice people and make perfect hosts: welcoming, thoughtful, helpful, they make you feel like special guests and do their best in order to make your stay in Paihia as pleasant as possible.

The rooms are very tidy and clean, and Marlin house overall is a cosy and welcoming environment, it feels just like you're at home.

The breakfast is superb, that's what it takes to get off to a good start in the morning before venturing into the township of Paihia and beyond.

Marlin house in my opinion is the ideal place to stay for those visitors who are looking for a friendly and easy-going accommodation providing good quality and professional service.

Keep up the good work Roger and Lynda, and we hope to be your guest again very soon!

Stayed 3 nights July 20th-23rd , traveled with Husband

J Scott


.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marlin House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin House is a comfortable colonial-style home set in a subtropical garden with ample off-street parking.Substantial decks provide stunning views of the Bay of Islands. An easy four minute walk to the beach, wharf, cafe's, restaurants and central Paihia. Marlin House offers three generous sized suites, each with a private entrance, a sitting and dinning area, ensuite, fridge, microwave and TV. Tea and coffee making facilities are alson provided.With Rogers restaurant/chef, experience we look forward to treating you to a special breakfast which will ensure a great start to the days many activities this region has to offer. Tailord excursions or activities can be orgainised. Lunch hampers and evening meals are available by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marlin House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list